Limited mobility | Unlimited stories: Why I'm looking for a magical shoe store like the one from my childhood

in #health6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Limited mobility | Unlimited stories: Why I'm looking for a magical shoe store like the one from my childhood


Dear reader - Steem has been renamed to Hive since May 2020. My content therefore has moved with me to Hive, and I hope to see you there: peakd.com/@soyrosa.

Sort:  

Department stores and the internet have made real shoe stores go away.

For me, that is a shame. Here you can still get custom made shoes and particularly boots. I have a guy in Spokane, Wa that made me 3 pairs that lasted more than 30 years. I went buy their place and it is still going strong but 'Nick' isn't there. It's his GRANDKIDS that you deal with first...

Is there anything like that there? 660 Euros sounds like a LOT. The last pair I got from Nick was less than $400.

Yes - the same company that 'adapts' my shoes can also make them 'full orthopedic' for me - or, from scratch. It's a decision I might make if I keep failing at finding shoes that can be adapted. The reason why my doctor advised me to postpone that direction and gave me a referral for 'semi-adapted' is these 'fully orthopedic' shoes are only covered 1 pair every 15 months instead of now 2 pairs every twelve months. And she wanted me to have more than one pair of shoes ;-)

Now, having 1 pair that is made for me every 15 months might be more convenient than owning 2 pairs every 12 months that are not 'perfectly made for me' so yeah - thinking, thinking, thinking.

Now, I know it's already a luxury to have coverage for this kind of stuff and many people in other countries might buy this stuff out of their own pocket anyway. But since we tend to reason from 'coverage' perspective this became the 'normal'. So I can't go to 'just' any shoe maker, but it has to be a certified medical shoe maker.

I'm glad Nick's store still exists by the way - it's a true craft to be able to make shoes and all these crafts disappear all over the world.

Your post has been selected as #adsactlyspostoftheday :)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the @adsactly tag in the post itself.

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

I hope you can find your magic shoe store. This story was sad with just the right touch of sweet, and those tiny first shoes are adorable.

I haven't had shoe needs like your issues, but I grew tall quickly and finding shoes, even to this day, in my size are hard. Sometimes I wear men's loafers , as they look very similar to women's and just fit better. I even have an old pair of my Father's nice ferragamo brogues that I've had resoled a million times that look pretty good with cable knit tights and a plaid skirt.

Now for fun heels, as I wore at my early halloween party, I had to special order online as my feet are quite large. I am right at the end of the size that are usually offered in stores , so I'll see cute girly pumps and they biggest size will be just a bit too small, story of my life. Oh well, it hardly compares to your issue, but it's still annoying.

Well, I hope your new house is a perfect dream and down the street they build a magic fairy shoe shop that is as you remember you childhood shop! One can dream, can't they ? ;)

If you're ever in The Netherlands we go shopping at a store that has super cool shoes for women with larger sizes :D You won't be disappointed!

But yeah, most fashion is quite 'subtle' in telling you when you are not of average size...

And yes, one can dream. I hope one day I can just 3D print the perfect shoes :D

You already have enough experience about shoes. Why don't you have a shoe store too?

Your mum really try. She kept that do pair of shoe for decades

Unfortunately I think it would make me unhappy to sell shoes :D

Toch raar je hebt schoenen nodig 12 en 15 maanden is dan toch veel te lang. Kut verzekeringen ! Misschien is een 3Dprint van je voet iets waardoor de aanpassingen makkelijker en goedkoper te maken zijn.... ik roep maar wat maar het is zo oneerlijk

Ja - ik heb best wel hoop dat 3D-printen een hoop gaat veranderen in de toekomst - hoe gaaf zou dat zijn? 3D-scan, print je schoen in de kleur die jij wilt! :D Hahaha. Ik vind het ook kut maar blijf wel hopen op verbetering op dit vlak in de toekomst. Misschien kunnen ze zelfs ooit een nieuwe voet voor me printen? :')

Zouden ze dat al niet ergens kunnen? Maar die kant gaan we wel op hoor!
Oh en maandag is ok 😉

Hahaha - top - ik zet het in de agenda :D Geen idee of het al kan maar wie weet, de moeite van het uitzoeken waard ;-)

Gezellig we DM wel over de tijd

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

You got 100.00% upvote from Yensesa. Thank you for your continues support of Yensesa Exchange and being a member of Yensesa Residual Income

That is the only problem with purchasing online, I hope you can find that magical shoe store, and some shoes to help make your daily routine less painful.
It's funny when you mentioned memories tied to shoes, instantly it reminded me of buying shoes with my Aunt as a child.

Hi @soyrosa!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.412 which ranks you at #2100 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 9 places in the last three days (old rank 2109).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 219 contributions, your post is ranked at #74.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I had a weird relationship with shoes as well. I was never able to find a pair of shoes that won't hurt my ankles or leave me some scars. In my teens I wore mostly boots or running shoes. In my twenties I wore only high heels. In my thirties I went back to sneakers, loafers and comfy shoes. For two straight years I wore only flip-flops. When I tried to wear a pair of shoes for a wedding I could not fit my feet inside as it felt very uncomfortable. I compromised for a pair of flat sandals. No high heels ever since.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05