Dear Diary: I Am Thinking Of Giving Gifts To My Nurses This Coming Holidays

in #health5 years ago

Arnold-new.jpg

The nurses in my country are overworked and underpaid especially in the private hospitals and often the student nurses going on-the-job training are the ones paying the hospital to let them work to get some experience which is sometimes bad for the patients because they are made guinea pigs by both doctors and nurses and this is true in public hospitals.

That is why there is a "brain drain" in my country particularly with nurses where the good ones go abroad in order to have a "greener pasture." And they don't have any choice but to work abroad after they had all the training and experiences about their job specialty because of the low wage they get that could not give them a better life.

I really value my nurses and I know that they are humans too, they have also attitudes and also feelings that can be hurt. And I also know that they are expecting something in return from their patients whether it maybe be food or gifts.

But I just want to give them something this "yuletide season" that will at least make them happy and to let them know that they are really appreciated because they literally hold my life during my dialysis days. I am not really used to giving gifts because I can't recall anything given to me as a gift in a box but I can change that and hopefully I would make a plan for it.

Sort:  

My mother was a nurse @cryptopie and one day she reports to work and her long time patient wrote her a note and handed it to her with tears in her eyes.

Being a nurse, she never had time to read it. So, i guess she read it when she got home. I came home to her crying. But, what was inside the note was the patient thanking her for all that she has done for them. Confused, I asked why are you sad? She said she was happy, which made me more confused. Looking back can see that it was perhaps most beautiful gift given to her outside of our family.

The note still hangs in a picture frame to this day.
I love that you see the human element in others.

Stay blessed

That is so sweet @ihashblox
Nurses are very valuable to our society and they should therefore be "'valued" by the people that they care for.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95