37 Ways To Reduce Your Anxiety - #23 The Doctor & Time

in #health6 years ago (edited)

Bike Beach 2.jpg
I once went to see my doctor as I noticed I was feeling down and out, anxious and unmotivated with life. At age 18, I expected him to give me a pill at the time to resolve my problems; instead he asked me if anything had happened recently in my life to start the downward spiral.

Upon reflection I answered, “I’ve just had a girl I really liked break up with me and I don’t want to think about it, sleeping numbs the pain.” He replied with something I did not expect, but has stuck with me since that day.

Doctor: Can you remember a problem you had 5 years ago?

Me: Not really

Doctor: Can you remember a problem you had 4 years ago?

Me: Not really

Doctor: Can you remember a problem you had 3 years ago?

Me: Not really

Doctor: Can you remember a problem you had 2 years ago?

Me: Where are you going with this?

Doctor: How significant do you think this challenge will be in 5, 10 or 15 years from now?

Me: I guess it won’t

Doctor: Exactly! You don’t need any pills. That’s why you came to me right? Pick yourself up and get back onto living, this problem will pass. There is nothing wrong with your emotions, they are a part of life.

I felt such a shift when I realized that my challenge had a deadline. No problem lasts forever, in time all things will pass.

I've created a list of all the things I've done over the last 15 years that have reduced anxiety for myself and for the people I have worked with. I'll share one a day for 37 days.

https://inspirehypnotherapy.com/37-proven-ways-to-reduce-your-anxiety

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68