[Food] Huel - The Nutritionally Complete Human Food

in #health6 years ago (edited)


Many years ago now, I read an article on Wired about a new meal replacement system called Soylent and that is when I realised we truly do live in the future. A few years went by, and my interest in this topic increased when I started to pay more attention to my diet, nutritional intake and lifestyle habits. By this time, there were a few more competitors in the meal replacement market, so I did some research. I didn't want to start consuming vast quantities of Soy and Maltodextrin, but that's when I came across Huel, and I had to try it.

Huel is the self-styled "future of food", although I don't know if that's quite true. It's a blend of oats, brown rice, peas and flaxseed, all good stuff. It's been specially developed to give a human everything it needs, kinda like pet food I guess. The reason I was drawn to Huel in the first place is that first thing in the morning, the last thing I want to do is eat. I often either feel a bit nauseous or just have zero appetite, however I often found that smoothies and milk based drinks went down fine, so why not blend Huel and milk and at least pump some fuel into my body.

It must have been a little over a year ago now that I first bought some Huel, two big pouches that came with a t-shirt and shaker. I remember excitingly pouring milk, powder and fruit into a blender and seconds later it's done. At first, I was really impressed, it was just like a really milky porridge. However, after a few weeks I started to notice a couple of things. I'd get really, really tired after consuming my morning Huel shake and then there was the taste. To begin, the taste wasn't really noticeable, but after a while that Huel taste and feeling would linger in the mouth for what seemed like forever. The company suggests you can even bake with it, but that just made the taste worse. Eventually I stopped using it all together, but last week I figured I'd give it another go.

My first round with Huel was with version 1.0, but now we're on version 2.3. Time for an upgrade. I received my pouches today, along with a sample pack of the new flavour system they have introduced and I have to say, it's significantly better. That coating of finely ground oats and rice is still there, but the taste has significantly improved. You know what fixes the weird coating feeling? Brushing your teeth, so yeah it's really not a problem. Before it was almost like the taste of a cheap multivitamin tablet, y'know? This time though, far closer to a more neutral oaty flavour with Vanilla. I think I'll be fuelling up with Huel most mornings now, and after a month or so I'll do a follow up post to see how I'm getting on.

If you would like to try Huel and save yourself £10 off the price, then sign up using my personal referral link that I've included down below. It's really affordable, and works out at about £1.80 a meal which is amazing value. They now also have granola and cereal bars, as well as other flavours of the powder to try. If you find you don't have much time in the morning, it might be worth looking into. Also, if Irritable Bowel Syndrome is something you've experienced then have a read of this article by the Huel team.

My Personal Referral Link


Is it the answer to the world's food problems? No, but I certainly appreciate the option for those times when I just don't really feel like eating, I don't have to worry as I've at least got the fuel in me that I need. What do you make of Huel? Let me know your thoughts and feelings down in the comment section and as always, make sure to follow me for the latest Cryptocurrency, Technology, Internet and Pop Culture updates. If you're a fan of strange YouTube videos, you might want to follow me on Twitter. Until next time, take it easy!


Source:
Huel Website (https://uk.huel.com)


All images and videos are used without the express authorisation of the copyright holders. They are used under what's known in British law as "Fair Dealing" or under US law as "Fair Use" exceptions. For example, exceptions relating to research and private study, criticism or review, or news reporting. For more information visit the UK Gov website or the US Gov website.

Sort:  

I have a difficult time eating in the morning as well, which you couldn't tell by looking at me as I'm not a slim person I just do not feel like eating when I wake up sometimes. Maybe I'll give this a try.

I wonder what causes it, I've been this way for as long as I can remember. I've normally been a skinny person, but I've noticed a tyre slowly creeping it's way in around my belly.
It's definitely worth trying, the unflavoured one can be combined with anything to make a genuinely nice shake. At the moment I'm having two scoops, 500ml whole milk, a banana and a handful of raspberries and it's made a massive difference to my energy levels already. It's incredibly low in sugar, and has all the right amounts of good fats in it.

On Tuesdays I like to eat meals like these paired with a Maibock. Fridays are another story... evil laugh

haha I'll have to try blending some Huel up with a nice local beer, refreshing!

You might try Italian style sweet breakfast. It's a totally different "philosophy" than full English breakfast or even porridge. This thing actually sounds like the latter one :)

I'm in love with Italian food, it's my favourite type of cuisine. I've never understood the British and American ideas of breakfast, a full english first thing? No wonder obesity is such a problem!
So what would make up an Italian style sweet breakfast?

That's a breakfast I can get behind! Getting hold of good pastries round here can be hard. In Yorkshire, where I used to live, there were multiple bakeries in each little town, but here... very little. It's a shame.

I need this. Think how much more time you would have if all your meals were ready to go!!

Food is yummy but I'm kinda tired of the whole food process...and many don't have enough, to be honest.

I believe our food system needs a serious uograde.

It's definitely worth checking out, apparently it's really popular amongst web developers and software engineers. When you're elbow deep in a coding problem, the last thing on your mind is food so I guess it makes sense.

That's it, I think my issues with food in the past were even fed by the guilty feeling that there are too many people who don't have enough to eat. There's definitely room for improvement, I haven't fully looked into the sustainability of Huel, however Rice, Oats and Flax are fairly standard crops worldwide, so it shouldn't have a massive ecological impact. More research needed!

You just planted 0.43 tree(s)!


Thanks to @johngreenfield

We have planted already 7347.23 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 22158.99
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

We apologize for the continued delay of our upvotes. We’re working hard to obtain more SP to keep up with all of our amazing Thunder Supporters. Thank you for your continued patience and support! You are the lightning to our THUNDER!

As a friendly reminder, the upvote fee is $0.08 SBD ($0.081 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.10+ SBD.

That being said…

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73