You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Scientific Studies into The Cancer Causing Effects of Eating Meat.

in #health6 years ago

I certainly agree that less meat and more plants need to be in our diets. However, there are a few people who cannot thrive on a plant only diet (think inuit and those races from the far north where little plant life grows). For years I was vegetarian and wanted to go vegan, but I spent those years continually sick. I later discovered that my digestive system is unable to process plant foods well enough to gain all that I need from them. It wasnt until I put some red meat back into my diet that I was able to go for more than a few weeks without sickness.

This wasn't an easy decision for me. I would dearly love to be vegan, so I feel pained that I am probably viewed with disgust by many vegans. However, for me the choice is living my life to the full, but ingesting meat, or barely being capable of looking after myself, nevermind my family.

Sort:  

The body is an adaptable creation and highly intelligent/efficient - so, yes, if many generations live in an environment without plants and with only fish/animals to eat, then it is understandable that they would adapt towards that situation. My understanding is that it is digestive enzymes that largely participate in the process of breaking down foods into sub components that can be absorbed - do you know if your issue is due to a lack of specific enzymes or for some other reason?

do you know if your issue is due to a lack of specific enzymes or for some other reason?

Good question. It's something that I'd be interested to find out if I ever find the money and time. I could, however, look into that more.

You've reminded me of some research I was hearing about pancreatic enzymes which help break down protein and how they can also protect the body from cancer. The research showed that a high protein (high meat) diet depletes those enzymes leaving the body without that protection. That could be another link between cancer and meat.

I see ok, I'm not sure I have read about that before. There is so much research and theorising in the world of anatomical science that it can be a challenge to keep up, even for those in the field directly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 56792.82
ETH 2874.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67