Officially completed and succeeded at my 3 Day water fast!

in #health6 years ago (edited)

So today I finally broke my 3 day fast. I think that's the way faster's talk, but today I ate food again!


Source

I made is 67 hours, so I did stop a few hours short than the full 72hrs that would be 3 days, but not because of any undue effects. I wasn't sure what to expect from eating again and wanted to ease into early since I had plans to go out tonight and didn't want some sort of bodily disaster on my hands.

I do feel like the fast effected my sleep last night and feel I was a but more restless than usually and awoke often. I feel like maybe I was dreaming of food or eating, but when I awoke I couldn't say I was hungry or anything and fell back asleep quickly. This morning I had my first vague physical symptoms as well, which was just a mild achyness in my legs. I took a glass as water with salt in the morning, in case it was an electrolyte thing and it did subside over the morning, not sure if the salt helped or just walking it out. Otherwise today interestingly there was no hunger, not even a little bit, it just kinda went away. I feel like I could have cruised on much longer and definitely plan to try it again and maybe try for 4 or 5 days. I would prefer when my wife is home and around, just in case things did somehow go off the rails, as it did make me a bit nervous when she suddenly left town yesterday and I was alone with the kids, but in the end it worked out fine.

IMG_6644.JPG

Here is my very first meal to break the fast, it was suggested going pretty light and adding some fruit juice. So I went with this organic beet juice blend that the kids actually loved when they had it at Costco from the sample lady. I had half a slice of a vegetable and nut and protein loaf I make. I'll actually have to share the recipe at some point. And some bread crust from the kids sandwiches at lunch. Back to garbage can Dad finished all the remnants of there food so it doesn't hit the garbage. I did feel surprisingly full after eating this small amount, but otherwise once again felt totally fine, with not other symptoms. I pushed it a little bit and also ate the kids almost stale goldfish crackers in there snack cups they have been dragging around the house but not eating over the last couple days and once again felt totally fine.

IMG_6654.JPG

For supper I had one of these meatless burgers, they are actually quite good, and not something we normally have, but we got them for when my vegan cousin came over for dinner, but turned out it was a fail nevertheless since it included some sort of modified milk ingredient so we have been eating them. I made two but was actually full after just one. I also ate a small spinach and garden green salad as well. None of this seamed to have any effect on me and felt fine eating again.

Reflection

Overall it was a good experience. The whole thing was actually much easier then I expected and felt totally fine through out. I don't have any sort of biomarkers or anyways to determine if my body rejuvenated itself or purged any damaged or precancerous cells or anything. So far I don't feel any different since eating again, but I do think it's something I will try again and continue to experiment with different duration in the future. I think any potential theoretical benefits outweigh any negatives. I did loose around 5 lbs during the fast, but I don't expect it to magically stay off and expect most to come back once I eat again and weight loss certainly wasn't a goal.

I continue to think the biggest benefit will be my relationship to food and hunger. I hope I can lean on this experience to be able to forgo some of the cravings for snacks I have at times. Even tonight I was able to pass on desert that I made for the kids, which rarely usually happens.

From my experience it was safe and easy, but of course if you want to try to yourself, stay smart and seek medical advice first and blah blah blah


Footer by @bearone

Sort:  

We have upvoted your post for free! Send anywhere between 1 SBD and 10 SBD to @smartresteem to get more upvotes and return on investment via getting high visibility to your post with resteem to whales and minnows!

thanks for using our service

thanks for using our service

Congrats! You made it :) Are you planning on going another 3 days next time? Just curious.

LOL, we don't like throwing away good food. So yes, my husband and I knock out the unfinished plates. If we're too full, it goes to the chickens.

I will likely do 3 days again at some point, if that goes well again and a similar pattern, I will likely try longer ones as well.

Congrats on successful completion of your experiment. I couldn't help thinking that your first meal sounds a lot like that of my dog: what the kids wouldn't eat, and some random greens.
I had wondered when you started your water fast about the effect of not getting electrolytes. I did hydration labs in military medical training... if you are drinking and not getting electrolytes then your body is also purging its electrolytes (which are the fuel for cellular functions). The difference between drinking just water for a long sweaty day of working outside and having water with gatorade is huge. So I wonder what the difference in your water fast would be if you found a way to include electrolytes.

I was curious about this as well, and wondering if the aches the morning of day 3 were from that. I wonder if it's different since it was a slow process and maybe my body had a chance to liberate the needed electrolytes from metabolizing whatever it was for energy while I was fasting. Or maybe the process of sweating removes the electrolytes faster?
I'll have to look into detail on longer fasts I'm sure you would need to be mindful and likely replace your electrolytes.

Congrats. I wonder what made you fast? Just to see if you can? Spiritual, health? I missed the first day of fast. Maybe it's there. Glad you came out well and feeling good at the end of it. When we can control our hunger cravings we are one step closer to controlling our minds :)....yup just checked back...read your reasoning :) good good!

Yeah, it was in day 1, mostly health and longevity, and bit of self-experimentation. I really think the better appreciated of my relationship with hunger was the biggest postive outcome from it.

Nice job sticking to it.

I can't seem to get past about 30 hours myself

Yeah eh, it is physical symptoms that stop you? I'm still so surprised just how easy it seamed for me.

It's entirely mental. I just want to eat at that point.

Congrats on making it to th 67th hour. You must explain why you decided to fast and what you feel the greatest benefits have been from it. 🐓🐓

My main reason for it was mostly health and longevity, and bit of self-experimentation. There's not really anyway to know for sure if my body did purge some damaged or precancerous cells, etc, etc, but hopefully there was a health benefit.
I really think the better appreciation of my relationship with hunger was the biggest positive outcome from it. I think it's something I can carry forward into everyday life and change some of my eating patterns.

Smart. Our relationship with food is really important in figuring out if we eat because we ar hungry or for comfort. I admire you for taking the challenge.🐓🐓

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 20.13% upvote!
I was summoned by @phelimint. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

You have been defended with a 36.36% upvote!
I was summoned by @phelimint.

Sounds absolutely awesome. I really want to give it a try! I'll be following you from now on :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62737.73
ETH 2925.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50