Did you know walking BAREFOOT has health BENEFITS?

in #health6 years ago

Walking barefoot, or "earthing" means to walk barefoot on any natural surface. It can be sand, grass, soil or rocks. There are studies that show how the relationship between electrons in the earth and our bodies has big health benefits for us.

"Walking with your feet directly touching the soil allows your body to absorb negative electrons through the Earth, which helps to stabilize daily cortisol rhythm and create a balanced internal bioelectrical environment." Dr. Mercola

maxresdefault.jpg
image source

WALKING BAREFOOT STRENGTHENS THE IMMUNE SYSTEM

When we walk barefoot our white blood cell count decreases and red blood cell count increases, which is a positive immune response. You can read more about this in a report published in the Journal of Environmental and Public Health. Here is one small part of the conclusion of the research:

The research done to date supports the concept that grounding or earthing the human body may be an essential element in the health equation along with sunshine, clean air and water, nutritious food, and physical activity.

REDUCE PAIN AND INFLAMMATION, HAVE A NAP OUTSIDE

There is a considerable reduction in cortisol levels after being in contact with earth surface. Pain, sleep troubles and stress can be reduced if you regularly walk barefoot or even better, sleep on the ground. MAURICE GHALY, M.D. and DALE TEPLITZ, M.A. have published their work on this subject in 2004. which you can read in detail here. I found it interesting to hear how this has more effect on women than it does on men, this is what they stated in their conclusion:

Results indicate that grounding the human body to earth
during sleep reduces night-time levels of cortisol and resynchronizes
hormone cortisol secretion more in alignment
with the natural 24-hour circadian rhythm profile. Changes
were most apparent in females. Furthermore, subjective reporting
indicates that grounding the human body to earth
during sleep improves sleep and reduces pain and stress.

1390697.large.jpg
image source

HEART DISEASE, MENSTRUAL CRAMPS, ANXIETY, STRESS

Walking barefoot helps with all of the above-mentioned things. The high viscosity of blood has been found to be a risk factor for heart disease. When we walk barefoot clumping in the cells reduces which decreases blood thickness. As for the menstrual cramps, as earthing helps with all pain so it does with this one. Have in mind that taking a stroll through nature has an impact on your mind and soul as well.

People have a positive charge because of the electromagnetic waves we come in contact during our daily activities. Earth, on the other hand, carries a negative charge and by being in contact with it our anxiety and stress are decreased because our nervous system is regulated.

barefoot-running-og.jpg
image source

MY EXPERIENCE?

I am a walker. I walk about 7 km every day and can say that I am addicted to it. :) Since I live in the urban city I have my shoes on while walking but take them off whenever I get out in nature. There is a certain amount of freedom and sense of expanding in my walks because my breathing synchronizes with the movements of my body. Endorphins that are being released are a positive thing too, I always feel relaxed and charged with positivity when I get home.

I love walking barefoot in the woods and on the sand beaches and enjoy the contact with the earth surface with all the benefits that it brings. We sit too much during the day, try to walk for at least half an hour a day and you will see how everything in your body and mind will begin to change for the better.

Sort:  

For sure, there are a lot of benefits… I need to try it some more! I guess it depends a bit on where you are and where you're putting your feet! ;)

Well yes, you have to look what you are stepping in :) Thank you for your lovely comment 💚

Obožavam barefoot...i brojim dane do ljeta ;)
Super post, Petra! I sviđa mi se tvoj Bitmoji :)

Da, i jaaaa. Navukla sam se prije par godina i čim dođe toplije vrijeme stalno sam bosa :)
Bitmoji je cool, jako mi je slatka cartoon verzija mene, neke stvari fale ali valjda će ih dodati s vremenom, činjenica da ima opciju undercata me oduševila, ali još čekam da dodaju pirseve :)

Barefoot walking does have some great benefits. But it is better to walk barefoot in a place you know is clean and will not have small worms or thorns around. For example a walk in a lawn at home is good. :-)

A walk in a lawn sounds perfect, the only thing that matters is that you are in contact with earth. Thorns can be a problem but if you watch where you are going you are fine, just remember to wash your feet before bed :)

Oh yes, it is similar to having a foot reflexology massage but this is a natural one. from time to time, i have my foot massage walking over some pebbles :-)

Pebbles and rocks are great, they do wonders with the reflexology yes, and it is free! :)

I love barefoot walking - not easy in the cold climate where I live. I'm thinking of trying out "barefoot" shoes - ie shoes that have minimal soles, to imitate barefoot walking. You start off with a less minimal sole and gradually progress to thinner soles. You can even get barefoot walking boots! I can't imagine how they would perform on rough terrain - I might try them out one day.

Those sound very interesting, I will have to google them out and find out more. Thank you for telling me 💚

Try vivobarefoot dotcom. I'm not endorsing them, as I haven't tried them myself yet - someone I know recommended them.

I have a pair they're great:) also have some amazing hiking boot from a company called Lems.

Excellent! I've just googled Lems and they ship to the UK too :)

I never go barefoot these days. We live in a desert, the ground is mostly sand with fine sharp gravel dr very offensive weeds.

As a mostly city dweller previously I would go barefoot on packed snow sidewalks for short distances, or any distance up to 80 or so degrees. In other words, I hardly ever wore shoes for many years. Grass is, of course, a delight, and so are woodland trails. The absolute best barefoot experience has to be rain on a very hot pavement.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

I am so sorry you have less chance to go barefoot, but those snow sidewalks sound delightful.
Rain on hot pavements, I know, ooo, I know :)

Thank you very much for your article. Full upvote and full resteem :)

Yes, barefoot walking (and running) is one of the cornerstones of your health.

I do walk barefoot most of the time in the warm part of the year. That meaning from mid May to late September. I am eagerly anticipating the first real barefoot walk.

In the summer I have my shoes (sandals) on only when the surface is too hot or when there is a danger of sharp objects -> urban areas mostly.


Hej i puno ti hvala za ovaj članak. Vidim da čemo na Balkan Steemfestu imati bosonogu sekciju i šetnju :)

I have heard of barefoot running but haven't tried it yet myself, just walking for now.
I too use sandals or flip-flops when on dangerous surface but take them off whenever I can.
Definitivno, bosnoga ekipa će pokoriti Balkan steemfest :)
Thank you for your lovely comment 💚

You are welcome.

Sorry in advance for hijacking your article. I did a search of my old posts and found these three:

First Barefoot Run Of The Year 2017
#runeveryday - Two Half Runs, Barefoot Again [041]
Bare Feet With Mud Between Fingers

There will be more barefoot running posts this year. One of my long term goals is to run a long race (Celje - Logarska 75 km ultramarathon) barefoot.

Thank you very very much for writing this article. It is a booster :)

WOW! You are a barefoot expert!!! 💚💚💚

Such a simple thing and helps so much :) I love walking, especially barefoot, I haven't missed a day earching since a very long time and I am addicted to it. Great post!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 48 (2/17/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Nice post, I love going barefoot for many reasons but I swear I sleep better if I get my bare feet on some dirt during the day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62121.36
ETH 3004.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71