You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Insults and Sayins of the Old West

in #history6 years ago

Some of these are pretty crude...but the definition of started out as a horse-drawn cart that collected animal guts and assorted odds and ends from the local butchers. What they did with it, I really don't want to know. But today the gut wagon has taken on a new meaning, sort of. It is what the lunch truck is called that goes around to industrial job sites and sells expired sandwiches to grubby workers.

Sort:  

cecicastor! thanks so much..so the modern Lunch Truck is called a gut wagon! lol. expired sandwiches... sounds yummy. and nutritious! I guess it MAY be better than nothing?

In Canada, some of the old train lines serve this kind of hard and outdated food. Come to think of it, I have been on airlines that serve the same garbage...

really? oh my..well I don't travel much but I reckon there are advantages in that also.
but you still have to pay a pretty penny don't you?

Yes, you do! On airlines today, you fly economy you pay exrta for the dood. If you fly business class or first class it is extra hidden in the cost of your ticket. No free rides..

yes Ma'am you are so right!

Well my friend, they still have gut wagons, they are just industrial sized ones. Meat processing plants for Chicken, Beef, etc. still have a need to get rid of the miscellaneous parts and pieces that they can't turn into hotdogs, Spam, etc.
lol, back when I worked construction they were either the gut wagon, the roach-coach, or burrito-mobile. There were some other more colorful names that I won't mention here as well.

We have meat wagons too. That is what we call the 40-year-old ambulances...lol

oh my! that sounds about right for your country unfortunately.

howdy back @coinsandchains! so I wonder what the meat processing plants did with the leftovers? burn them or bury them? I have no idea. ha. I like some of those creative names you mentioned! thanks for commenting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84