Learning From The Ruins Of The Middle East + My Entry For @derangedvisions Photography ConteststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #history5 years ago

If you don't already, I highly recommend you follow @derangedvisions. I don't have adequate words to describe it, but the way he captures an image is subtly expressive, presenting the subject in a way that feels very natural but is full of emotion at the same time.

This is my entry for @derangedvisions' photography contest in black & white.


@ironmanmatt walking through the ruins of Saddam's palace
(This is my entry for the contest, but I'll post a few more pictures below as well.)


When my husband and I were living and working in the Middle East, our friends took us to visit some amazing places -- places you won't find in too many travel guides.

Finding hope in the ruins

The place that left me with the most mixed feelings was the ruins of one of Saddam Hussein's palaces (located in the Kurdistan region of Northern Iraq.)

Saddam Hussein was a tyrannical ruler in Iraq. Not unlike the ancient rulers of the region, Saddam's cruelty to the people he oppressed was rivaled by the benefits he brought to Baghdad and to the people closest to him. Though most were overjoyed to see his regime come to end, you will still find mixed feelings about the period of his dictatorship among the people of Iraq.

This palace was probably looted in 1991 after the Kurdish uprising. The Kurds were some of the most oppressed people under Saddam's regime. The chemical attacks at Halabja in 1988 are a not-so-distance memory for many Kurds. Parents and grandparents recall stories of how they fled to the mountains to escape Saddam's soldiers.

Walking through the ruins of his palace was a great reminder that evil men will be brought low. Their oppression will come to end. At the same time, the grief of those who suffered was etched in the graffiti on the walls and in the destruction that had made the palace inhabitable.

As much as courage is needed to stand up against the evils and injustices of this world, we also need compassion to come alongside those who have suffered under them.


All pictures by me @helenoftroy
Sort:  

Well written @helenoftroy! Great photos. Having lived in the Middle East briefly myself I also found it intriguing (although) sad exploring the ruins of what should be a great nation if it weren't for those tyrants.

Thanks so much @buckaroo! I got to teach ancient history and Kurdish history during that time and it was amazing/depressing to watch the cycle of tyrannical rulers happen again and again. I tried to impress on my students the importance of self-governance ... otherwise there are those who will be more than happy to rule over you!

P.S. I’ll upvote your comment when my voting power is back up!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Woah! A teacher of history. That's amazing. I love history. I hope your students took your lessons to heart @helenoftroy

What a neat experience. I somehow bypassed this post before, but glad I caught up to it.

Wow...i wouldnt have thought a palace would have gone un-occupied... But as you say, I guess the emotions and feelings associated with it saw to it that it was destroyed instead of repurposed.

Very interesting! I am going now to see who the winner was of this contest.

Peace

You got a 27.70% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @helenoftroy!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94