Hermann's Restoration Begins

in #history5 years ago (edited)

This painting reminds me of Herman because he would go down to the river to be by himself and the Title of this is called Solitude. The artist is one of my favorite Western painters named Zhou Shu Liang. I know, the name isn't what you'd expect.

He moved here from China in 1982 and started painting American Indians. His paintings are always historically accurate and the details are phenomenal. He's friends with many Indians on reservations across the country.

small_solitude.jpg
source

Howdy folks, greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas!

We're in a series about the Wild West and the incredible story of an 11 year old German boy, Hermann, who was captured by an Apache war party from his family's farm in 1870 in Central Texas.

He's now 19-20 years old at this point in the story and has become a full blown warrior who hates and fears the White man. And in fact, has taken many a scalp. He's been with the Comanche for a few years now.

Yesterday's post

In the last post Herman finally made it home to his family but at the time he didn't remember any of them, not even his mother and he hated being there.

Today's story

The whole town had a big celebration feast for Herman but he was trying to stay away from everyone which was pretty much impossible to do. When they lead him to the feast table he immediately was repulsed and refused to sit down.

That's because they had a fine roasted pig but the Comanche didn't believe in eating pig so he refused to sit down. Through sign language he made known the problem and after they removed the pig he sat down.

He didn't explain why they believed it was wrong to eat pork, maybe he just accepted it and didn't ask.

The mist of forgotten memories begins to lift

Herman kept hearing his name over and over and it sounded familiar to him.

He finally realized that was his name. His younger brother Willie and Mina stayed close to him and he finally started to remember them as his playmates when they were little kids.

Well shoot, he was 11 when he was taken, Willie was taken at the same time at age 9 but was released after a week.

Now Herman was 20 years old and a seasoned warrior so he was not the little boy his mother remembered! He was actually a cold-blooded killer.

He looked a sight in his Indian clothes and the townspeople examined him closely in their curiosity when he first arrived.

He was lonely and felt isolated

He felt all alone among the Palefaces, even though he WAS one. And even though he knew Willie and Mina was his brother and sister he still didn't want to be there and planned on going back with the soldiers.

They knew that and his family got him side tracked by showing him something while the soldiers slipped away. It was awkward for Herman but not really for his mother or Willie or Mina.

It could have been but they refused to be offended no matter what he did.

In fact, they were the perfect example of walking in love.. no matter what.

And he was pretty bad attitude-wise. He was aloof and indifferent to them but they treated him with love and kindness and nothing he could do changed their attitude.

Herman longed for his old life out on the Plains

5a55abb9d1e3ae7f3d8baa0b92983b61.jpg
source

Nothing but love and affection

The soldiers told Mina what he liked to eat and how he liked his food, as much as they had learned from him on the trip down, and she did the best she could. If he refused to eat then that was fine with them.

Herman had a really nice room prepared for him with a wonderful feather bed but he refused all the Paleface luxuries. Instead, he insisted on sleeping outside with only a blanket.

They gave him a few horses and cattle, hoping that ownership of them would help encourage him to stay. (plus they were hoping he wouldn't steal any horses if he had his own!)

"Stick to that boy like glue!"

He stayed away from as many people as possible but he couldn't shake Willie, who became his constant companion and who worked on teaching him the culture and language which he'd completely forgotten. (this was his mother's strict instructions).

He shunned white man's clothes and would often times paint himself and with leggings and breech-cloth and feathers, show up in the hotel lobby among the guests and freak them out because he appeared as a savage Comanche warrior! lol. I'd loved to have seen that!

Yeah, he probably looked similar to this guy:

Cheyenne-Indians-Warriors.jpg
source

a0esw215rr.png

He's not exactly taking to the Paleface culture but we'll see how it goes in the next post.

Thanks for reading folks, God bless you all!
-jonboy
Texas

l1xgphrt5d.png

uvsylyennv.png

h4n7abo9mw.png
source

This is another one that I like from the great Zhou Shu Liang. It's called "Sharing the harvest." Obviously Indian maidens are gathering berries and one of them is sharing with a warrior.

Sort:  

That first painting really captures how close to nature the Indians were. I wonder if my MIL knew about this artist Zhou Shu Liang. She was a painter herself and took many classes before painting on her own. She passed away in 2015 or I would ask her! Looking forward to more of this story and resisting the urge to google the rest of the story...LOL

haha! No don't google it! lol..I'm telling it in my own way so the online version would be boring! lol. I'm so interested in the artists story that I'd like to do a post or two about him.

Those are great paintings. Thanks for introducing me to this artist.

I'm glad his family is so dedicated to helping him figure out who he really is. It sounds like they understand that he will have multi layers that they will have to learn to accept.

Howdy again tonight Melinda! It's getting late, how has your day gone? Did it rain today?
Yes, Herman's family is so patient with him it's unreal! I'm glad I discovered the artist, I've been seeing his paintings all over the internet but didn't know that he was a Chinese painter! He's still working too, I think he lives in California, he's one year older than I am so if he keeps painting he'll have many more great works coming out.

What a great artist! I have seen the works of Zhou Shu Liang in books before and his work is impeccable. I feel bad for Hermann being penned up in town when his heart is with the tribes and I feel equally as bad for his family, who are trying to get him acclimated to being at home again.

Howdy tamaralovelace! Yes, it was not fun for any of them but it gets better. It was even worse for the tribes on the reservations though.
Thanks so much for appreciating the great paintings! The quality, realism, detail and skill is astounding!

Hi Cowboy! It’s hard to believe his memory is taking so long to return. After all he was 11 when he was captured. Did the Apaches know some kind of mind control?

lol! howdy redheadpei! I think it had to do with all the extreme trauma that he was exposed to. But to not remember a single word of his native language is shocking!

Haha janton, I am sure that the people were scared to bits at sight of Hermann in his Indian regalia. I completely understand his behaviour. I am interested to see how love succeeds in the end ...because I am thinking it will.

Is his family still speaking the German language or is it all English by now?

I think it's both by now. She is running a hotel so I'm sure she had to learn English.

Interesting how people form different cultures come together as one community. It boils to down to making a living it seems.

Yes Ma'am it was a necessary adjustment to make for the business, learning English.

Nice paintings, I like this artist!

He sure had it rough, even living through it.

Look at @ourfreesociety good newbie that deserves more attention.

:)>

I like this artist too sir smithlabs. I suppose you're an art critic too?
I think there's a good story there with the artist. How do you get from China to be the best Western and American Indian painter in the U.S.?
what newby? what's in it for me?

I do know what I like, but I have no art talent. My Wife and Daughter are both very good. As an artist, passion shows, and he is impressive!

He is just a good newbie, seems intelligent, stuck at the bottom, but writing well. Not any gain for either of us, he is just a good kid. But since newbies are the future of steemit....

:)>

Poor boy. His time with the Apaches and Comanche has totally changed him. What a lovely family - sticking by him like that.

Howdy sir Vincent! At this point I don't know if I feel bad that he was changed or bad that he couldn't stay with his adopted the family the Comanche. I mean it was a great lifestyle if you take out the killing and scalping part! lol.

That Chinese painter is a very interesting person!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Howdy sir kaminchan! He sure is, I might do a post about him!

Those painting are gorgeous; I love them too.

Anyway, I can totally imagine the scenario of Hermann with his family and I admire their patience with him. But that is an example of true unconditional love. But the best part was the hotel lobby and I would love to see that to, lol.

Howdy today Miss Lena! So true. Unconditional love. Yes he gives people quite the scare for a long time, but you'll see more examples of that coming up. And you thought the story was over didn't you? lol.
Thanks so much for appreciating the paintings, I'm so glad I discovered this artist! I want to hear his story so I can do a post about him.

Howdy Janton! I had the feeling that it wasn't over yet and I would be very disappointed if it was. I already red the last story, but I didn't comment yet, because it was late and I was tired. I am going to that now 😊

Howdy again Miss Lena! I'm glad you're enjoying this wild story.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you so much esteemapp and God bless you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59