You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daniel B. May: His Story Continues

in #history6 years ago

gee sir blanchy is that what that thing is, a film? since I was born in the 1800's I had no idea! lol. I will watch it in little bites but it better be good! and it better be about Irish history and not some snowflake love story! lol.
by the way i hear alot of people complaining about the Irish winters over there, all it does is blow cold wind, is cloudy and raining all the time, is that true? I need to know when to plan my next visit! can I carry my six shooter in case I run into hooligans?

Sort:  

We have no hooligans here @janton . My wife’s Maiden name is actually Houlihan that’s came from that word and she’s quiet enough! 😉. Yeah the winters are a bit like that alright. The wind Ian the killer . There are polish people living here that are used to -17 degrees Celsius that swear that Ireland’s Is colder due to the wind chill. It cuts through you . If you bring a six shooter to Ireland you will probably spend the next 5 years in one of our jails! That film is the opposite of a snowflake film by the way! It’s very interesting

sir blanchy! so you guys have no hooligans in Ireland huh? Or you freaking high? So your police have nothing to do and your jails are empty.

they got the term Hooligan from the family name of Houlihan?

Hey I just saw some of the movie 28 Days today and that Irish bloke Cillian Murphy is also in that one, haha, I recognized him from the cover of the Barley flake movie or whatever it's called there that you sent and I have it book marked to watch.
I like Brave Heart is that dude Irish too? what was his name...oh yeah /William Wallace? he ran around in kilts with big swords and stuff. didn't have six shooters then or he'd worn a pair of them.

No Houlihan came from word Hooligan. Other way around. A hooligan over here is a football hooligan that starts fights at the football. We rarely have that here. The junkies and the travellers are another story. So you watched a zombie film over the history of Ireland film that I recommended to learn about about my heritage??? I suppose it is a bit to violent for the guy who likes playing with his little gun shooting rats.

hahaha! no I didn't choose a zombie film over yours, I just walked into the living room where my wife had it playing and I happened to recognize that actor Cillian. lol.

But back to the word Houlihan, that is very interesting. I suppose there is a reason your wife's ancestors got named that?

yeah I found out at the wedding. They drank more than our family which is a surprise

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63578.68
ETH 3314.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94