You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Part 2: Johnson Searches For His Family In Indian Territory

in #history5 years ago

You should be in charge of getting that movie made the right way! At least then it could be historically factual. I suppose history did not keep track of what happened to the wife and daughters. I can't imagine the trauma they must have gone through.

Sort:  

Oh yeah, it was a nightmare experience for the women. Well nowdays they would make the movie with a black cowboy, I think. But Westerns are so rare these days. Two years ago they made Hostiles which was brutally accurate I guess, haven't seen it yet, and showed both sides committing atrocities. It's true, I haven't seen what happened to the wife and daughters. If I was them I'd move to a city!

I'm tempted to do a series about the Parker kidnapping where they took several women and the one stayed with them most of her life, one of her Indian children grew up to be a great Commanche Chief.
thanks so much for your comments!

I think I will pass on Hostiles. I do okay if I have to read about those things in a book because I can control the images in my head. I don't want to see it on the TV or movie screen.

That is a beautiful painting. The artist really captured the movement well.

I understand about the Hostiles movie, that's the way Mrs. J is too. I've read so much blood curdling things and ways they tortured people for days that the movie probably wouldn't be too much for me. Most people that go to movies are a little numb I think.
Thanks for going back and checking out that painting though! I had a real good one done by a Texas artist that depicted Johnson's last stand behind his fallen horse and I asked the artist's office if I could use it and they haven't gotten back to me. It was super cool.

Good for you for trying to get permission to show that painting. I always wonder how those kind of permissions work and when you really are required to have them. It's easier just to use my own photos and then I don't have to worry about it.

I have always avoided horror movies, and I really dislike movies with excessive violence. I like living alone in the woods and it has always seemed rather silly to try to scare myself! When I hear someone walking around on my back deck in the middle of the night I just assumed that it's a deer or a raccoon.

For whatever reason it's different when I read it. No suspenseful music and if suddenly it's too horrific I can quickly turn the page.

I totally understand Melinda. Me and Mrs. J are with you on the horror movies too and especially almost all of them these days have a demonic theme to them that just ain't healthy to be dwelling on!

Yeah on the photos if it's a common one that everybody has on facebook or pinterest I don't worry about it, or if it's from a historic site or wikipedia those are all public photos and legal to use. This one was different because I'd never seen it before and they listed his name and studio and said unauthorized use was prohibited so I wasn't going to take a chance.

However, since his studio is only about 25 or 30 minutes away and he knows I'm a local guy that like Western art then he might let me use his art. I told him I would give out his site address and give him credit, he has some awesome Western scenes. So maybe I'll hear from them and can use his paintings in the future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62184.89
ETH 2995.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97