SEC-S17W2: "A Review Of The Most Special Food I Have Eaten In My Life"

in Steem For Bangladesh22 days ago

1000053047.png

We all need food to survive, and food is a gift from our creator, he didn't just make one type of food but varieties of it so that if you don't like this you will love the other! I believe food is a way that people explore various cultures and traditions, I've eaten a variety of meals in my life, some leave a lasting memory and each time I remember it brings back flashes of joyful moments.

As I stated before I've tasted so many special cuisines in my life but one stands out, and it's none other than, "One of my local dishes" Well, not that I've not eaten this soup before, maybe it's special because of the person who prepared it for me, just find out the food.

What Is The Name Of The Special Food?

PSX_20240419_140010.jpg

Afang soup is the name of the special food, it is one of my native dishes. We the Ibibio tribe of Akwa Ibom State love this meal, it holds a special place in our hearts, we eat it frequently and serve the meal on special occasions like traditional marriage ceremonies, burial, etc. The food is simple to prepare but very tasty 😋, other tribes in Nigeria normally vouch for this food, it's significant to my culture and tradition.

Why Is This Food The Most Special Food You Eat In Your Life?

This food became special in my life because of who prepared it for me, and the circumstances surrounding the moment. I mean the memory associated with it is what I cherish to date. That particular day I was in school and my fiance then but now hubby gave me a pleasant surprise, he traveled down from our state Akwa Ibom to where I was studying in Imo State. He bought foodstuffs in the market and reaching my lodge he prepared delicious Afang soup and kept it for me. I've been communicating with him that particular day and he didn't tell me that he came around to visit, yeah he got the spare key to my lodge and I lamented how famished I was to him on the phone 😂 but he didn't say anything.

1000053009.jpg

I came back from school late, stressed and tired, I was thinking about what dinner could be while on the bus and decided to take tea and bread because I couldn't prepare anything but to my greatest surprise when I opened my room I saw my fiance and I shouted in joy 😹 and to grand it all he has prepared one of my favorite Afang soup for dinner! He cooked it just the way I love it, very fresh, and the texture, taste, and aroma were heavenly! I devoured the food like a hungry lion haha that meal resonates with my personal preferences and cravings, and I will never forget it., because it was so thoughtful of him and he cooks it with lots of love, that's why it's special for me.

Where Did You Eat This Food? Or If You Have A Recipe, You Can Share It

1000053020.jpg

The recipe for the soup

As I said before I ate this meal right in my lodge when I came back home from school, my then-fiance prepared it for me, and the aroma of this sizzling food captured my interest, and the ingredients for the food included dried fish, stock fish, scented pepper, cow tongue and skin, Afang leaves, water leaves, periwinkles, and Crayfish, etc. I've made a replica of the soup for this contest and below are the steps on how to prepare it.

Ingredients:

Afang leaves, Water leaves, Dry fish, Crayfish, stock fish, palm oil, periwinkles, salt, seasoning cubes, onion, cow tongue, cow skin, and scented pepper.

Preparation:

Plug the Afang leaves wash and slice it.

1000046774.jpg


Pound the Afang leaves and keep them aside.

1000052872.jpg


Select, wash, and slice your water leaves and keep them aside.

1000052889.jpg


Wash your stock fish season it, and add Palm oil to it.

1000052870.jpg


Wash and season your meat and cow skin with salt, Maggi, onions, and scented pepper 🫑

1000052871.jpg


Wash your dry fish and add to the cooked stock fish, pound crayfish and put, and add periwinkles too.

1000052876.jpg


Add the already-seasoned meat to the pot and allow the soup to simmer for some minutes.

1000052883.jpg


Add the chopped water leaves to the soup. Add seasoning cubes and Salt to taste, add palm oil too. Allow it to simmer for some minutes.

1000052890.jpg

1000052894.jpg


Put the pounded Afang leaves in the soup and mix them. Allow the soup to simmer for 2 minutes and boom boom, your soup will be ready.

1000052895.jpg

1000052897.jpg

And Why Would You Encourage Everyone To Eat This Food?

Yes I will because all the ingredients for this soup have healthy content you will not want to miss out on, they are packed with numerous nutritional value, and the combination of ingredients I selected complemented each so well making the dish more special. You see the food is leafy green, check out the benefits of water leaves alone, not to talk of fish, crayfish, and periwinkles, they are very good for our health and immune systems.

1000052945.jpg

It is said variety is the spice of life, so why not tickle your taste buds with this delicious meal? If you're bothered about how to get the ingredients why not check the African Kitchen or Market in your country, I bet you will love it!

I've been eating this food uncountable times as a matter of fact I used to prepare it weekly, each time I cook it, it reminds me of that special moment during my school days when my husband now prepared that special dish for me with love and care. It's a good experience I will live to treasure.

Food holds a special place in people's memories, Just add to your adventures by exploring various cuisines of different cultures and countries, and the experience tasting unique dishes!

Hi @jozzie99 @blessedbee and @ninapenda join this contest.

Sort:  
Loading...

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts, good comments anywhere, and any tags.
Curated by : @jyoti-thelight



 22 days ago 

Greetings to this challenge,,,

Food satisfies all of our hunger. But there are some foods that satisfy our hunger as well as bring back many golden memories of the past in Amado's mind. One such dish called "Afang soup" is your special dish because it is full of nutrients, very tasty and the most attractive thing is that it gives you Your husband remembers a memorable event. When you were hungry and your husband cooked this special soup for you when you were engaged.

May that memorable day of you and your husband be immortalized forever. I wish you all the best in this competition. stay well

• Best Regards
@nasir04

 22 days ago 

Hi @nasir04 friend thanks for reading me today, your good wishes mean a lot to me. I appreciate!

 22 days ago 

My pleasure 🥰

 22 days ago 

Absolutely, many dishes have not only taste but also have some emotions. Like my pav bhaji dish connect me to that time when I was with my family and all were happy and now all are shattered so it hurts but it is good memories. She is very kind lady and experience one on Steemit and the way she presented her food is commendable job.

Thanks

 22 days ago 

Thanks for your beautiful commendations friend, it means a lot to me!

 21 days ago 

It is mean a alot to me ma'am, This is opportunity for me via this engagement challenge that you are talking to me. I m big fan of you and your writing. You are experiencing Steemit member holding high rank which shows your dedication, hardwork, efforts. My journey is very far but I m working. I m just working here for my daughter education. In next year I have to take admission in school. This year I took but all money had been wasted ...

 22 days ago 

It is very long process and you have used various type of fishes, it seems costly dish also , may be medium class people can not afford this dish at their home. I have question is why do you use palm oil? Itvis very bad for heart and body. You must find best replacement for this. Taste is another thing but we need to protect our heart and kidney also. Overall you did hard work to project your content. I am very great full that I got an opportunity to read your content.

 22 days ago 

I have question is why do you use palm oil? It is very bad for heart and body

Well, this is what we've been using for cooking from generation to generation and you know what? We rarely suffer from these diseases. We do Cook with vegetable oil too but not with soups. Thanks for reading me today, I appreciate your contribution.

 21 days ago 

Oh means palm oil is just like traditional oil which is using years to years by one generation to another generation. May be then quality will be good. Like in India we use mustard oil for cooking and it is using same generation to generation. I think quality matters . I m sorry if I hurts you by my comment . My intention was not that to hurt you. Thanks

 22 days ago 

Aunty @goodybest afere mfo Ami anturn nyien edip eti eti. Afang ayemmi aka Harvard University Ake Anam masters ooo.
I could not help but admire the meat, perewrinkle and other obstacles inside. Ma please I am offering myself up for adoption. Please adopt me make I come dey chop better food🥺🥺🥺

 22 days ago 

Eweeee hahaha 🤣🤣🤣🤣😂 thank you so much for engaging with my post today. Don't worry I'll send yours via Bluetooth 😝😜🤪 hey you're welcome anytime!

 22 days ago 

Sosongho etieti

Greeting my friend,

I am happy to here on this post. Afang soup has become a cherished memory for you due to the person who prepared, Food often has a way of evoking strong emotional connections, and it's beautiful that you hold this dish dear to your heart.

Regards,
Sitaraindaryas

 22 days ago 

Food often has a way of evoking strong emotional connections,

I can't agree more with you on this, thanks for visiting me today, I appreciate your contribution!

From your regiew sister. I feel like eating it

 21 days ago 

Awww 🥰 you're welcome to eat it Sis

 22 days ago 

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Respected Ma'am @goodybest

Yes, food is very important for a person to survive, without it, a person cannot survive and it is a great gift from Allah Almighty to us.There are many favorite foods that we eat and sometimes it happens that we don't eat some of them but as soon as we eat these foods again we remember these beautiful moments.You expressed your favorite food beautifully and it's nice to know that you eat it with your fiance.I am not familiar with the dish of Fung Soup and now I feel like trying it.You have explained how to prepare this dish in a very beautiful way.Thank you very much for sharing such a good recipe.
@nazi01

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60719.63
ETH 2911.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59