Fruits & Veggies Monday - Going Bananas about DatessteemCreated with Sketch.

in OCD4 years ago

Weird just how many words have multiple meanings, like DATE for example:

  • Does talking about the music of the sixties DATE me?...
    Umph me thinks it does!

  • I will never forget my very first romantic DATE....
    Not telling you about that one!

  • Archaeologists DATE the artifact using various methods...
    What are they going to say about us in a couple of thousand years from now? Anything good?

  • What is your DATE of birth?...
    I'm not telling;)

  • DATE Palms grow well in the desert, can withstand extremely harsh conditions, like extreme heat and long periods of drought; yet produce abundant fruit for a very long time.

No guessing what I will be showcasing today for @lenasveganliving's Fruits and Veggies Monday; the contest that brightens up the Steem world every Monday, come rain or shine.
This contest would not be possible if we did not have sponsors and I take a bow to the following people: @lenasveganliving, @naturalmedicine, @vegansofsteemit, @plantstoplanks and the wonderful artist @barbara-orenya as well as the generous curators
20200223_181605.jpg
Gorgeous desert Medjool Dates in natural sun-dried status - grown in the mineral rich soils on the banks of the Orange River in neighbouring Namibia. They are extraordinarily sweet due to the high temperatures, fresh air and humidity from the Orange River.
20200224_085943.jpg
Hubby has been a type 1 (Insulin dependent) diabetic for some 63 years already; that sure DATES him not so:)
Finding healthy snacks with a low glycemic index for the horrid low blood sugar Hypoglycemic episodes is not easy; ask anyone who lives with or is a Type 1 diabetic about those scary and life threatening events if there's no one around to help the diabetic!

DATES however are great to get the sugar levels up again as they are low GI Carbs and of course have many health benefits.

I first learned from @plantstoplanks about using dates as a sugar replacement; much healthier and way more flavourful than any chemical sugar replacement!
20200223_155551.jpg

We're going Bananas about DATES today, so will be making Nutty Banana Date Muffins; store in the refrigerator as they are deliciously moist and also freeze really well.
Quick and easy to defrost in the microwave if you feel like a sugar-free sweet treat.

20200223_181620.jpg

I played around with recipes I found in dear old Granny Google's kitchen and this is my nutty, spicy and seedy version...

NUTTY BANANA DATE MUFFINS

Beat together...

  • 450 ml Unsweetened Almond Milk
  • 2 Tbsp Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 125 ml Vegetable Oil
  • 5 ml Vanilla Extract
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
    Add and beat...
  • 500 ml chopped Medjool Dates
  • 1 large over ripe Banana - mashed
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon Powder
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 125 ml Rolled Oats
  • 375 ml Stone-ground Wholemeal Flour
  • 125 ml Stone Ground White Cake Flour
  • 250 ml Pecan Nuts - coarsely chopped
  • Sesame Seeds for topping
  • 1 extra Banana for topping
    20200223_171500.jpg
    Spoon into muffin paper cases - this quantity made 12 muffins plus a small loaf cake.
    Top with thinly sliced Banana and Sesame Seeds.
    Bake at 170°C fan oven for around 20-25 min.
    20200223_173818.jpg

20200223_174116.jpg

20200223_174134.jpg

20200223_181210.jpg

BON APPETIT MY FRIENDS

20200223_181529.jpg

20200223_181555.jpg

FAVM divider.png

Connecting the people of #STEEM across South Africa. #steemsa JOIN US ON DISCORD (South Africans Only) JOIN US ON TWITTER JOIN US ON FACEBOOK

Qurator lizelle.png
Original Content by @lizelle

Thank you for stopping by

Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

You are hilarious my Dear Lizelle and those muffins are straight from heaven! I am definitely saving this recipe! I just wish I have one or two with my coffee right now!☕🍪😍

01.jpg

They really are delicious, thank you for the inspiration this contest provides Lena!

Another great presentation of using natural alternatives to fake sweetner, dates are delicious....

Wishing you a wonder week.

These one are absolutely delicious! Thank you for the wonderful wishes, a fabulous week for you as well:)

I made banana bread this week, too, so we must be on the same wavelength! Though ours is almost gone, so I might just have to try your variation next. I'm slowly but surely working my way through my date haul from last year. Though as soon as I'm close to the finish I'll be ordering another load because they are just so darn nutritious and delicious!

I always think of your massive haul when I buy my little tray of dates but the day after I made these muffins, I found them on special for next to nothing at a local little dried fruit & nuts shop so now have a good supply in the freezer;)
Thanks for the inspiration in the first instance!

lol what a wonderful post @lizelle. I love your "date" sense of humor, too funny :) The muffins and bread, oh my goodness. I love baking with dates, this is fabulous my friend. Good luck!

Glad you enjoyed the dates story dear Mrs Bird, it's sooo nice seeing you! You always inspire ne with your date recipes;)
Thank you for popping into my kitchen!

Those look just delicious, @lizelle. It's a small world. Those dates are grown by a company that a good friend of mine does the marketing and branding for. I had my apple & banana muffins at the market the other day, but ended up with a potential customer who's allergic to bananas. Any ideas?

Thank your friend, it's wonderful finding those dates in more and more fresh produce stores as well as the spice shops, they are absolutely yum! I'm sure grated apples would also work well in this recipe.
Thanks for your valued feedback!

I just love how beautiful they look and nothing beats dates for a sugar replacement. I think I need to get some soon.
Why won't you tell us about your first romantic date?

I'm really amazed how well the dates work as a sugar replacement, this was a great sweet treat! Thanks for your lovely comments @carolynstahl!

It looks delicious! I'll try to prepare it! Nice pictures. 👌

Glad you enjoyed it, thanks for popping in:)

Those look SO delicious !!

You took some great photos.

It really was, thanks for stopping by!

Hello @lizelle. The healthy dessert muffin looks delicious. I understand about Diabetes, as I have Type 2. And I love dates also and bananas. Although bananas don't work well with my blood type I'm told by the dietician.

Your bakery items are always beautifully displayed. I'll try the recipe one day, but use another fruit.

Thanks for sharing this recipe and health benefit of dates.

I'm sure you could replace the banana with a grated apple, worth a try! Thanks for your valued feedback:)

This is beautiful, @lizelle!

Thank you so much @gabeboy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68