We all are experiencing the impact of Covid-19. How is India dealing with it and how is it impacting me

in Project HOPE4 years ago

coronavirus2.jpg
Image Source

This shouldn't be a long post. By now, everyone knows about the novel Coronavirus. Most people have read about where is came from, how it is progressing all across the globe and how the world is dealing with it. If some of you are not aware, here is a website that you can use to track the growth of Coronavirus across the world.

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/

Total ~316k cases, 13.5k deaths. Most cases reported in China, followed by Italy and then Spain, US and Germany. Yesterday USA was at #3, today it is at number #4.

The first case of Coronavirus was reported in India on 30 Jan 2020. Today, there are 341 confirmed cases and 5 deaths. In 2 months India has tested 15000 cases. As per the latest information given by India authorities, testing capacity has increased to 50k per week which is close to South Korea, slightly below their capacity though and more than Spain, Italy and UK. Given the population of the country and poor public health system, India is focusing on isolation strategy, as opposed to Testing as recommended by WHO. That is why, very early on, Indian authorities proactively suspended all visas for tourists and have started the process of nationwide lockdown even with just 341 cases. As per latest reports, 4 to 6 states are under lockdown, and each district with a case has been put under lockdown. What that means is that essential services will remain open such as grocery, milk, emergency services whereas all public transport, offices etc. are all closed. This is needed surely, because India will not be able to manage the disease, I feel, if the country reaches Stage 3 of the spread.

Today was self induced nationwide lockdown which was a roaring success imo. There's still 2 hours to go for that to end but major cities and states have already announced that there will be extended lockdowns from tomorrow. At 5PM IST, the nation came together to applaud the hardwork being put in by those involved in public service and it was overwhelming to see the nation come together to fight this disease. Extremely emotional and proud moment!

I have been tracking the virus since it's inception in China and also wrote about the impact of a supply-side shock to the world when the cases were limited to China. At that point, I hadn't imagined that we will reach where we are today. The biggest awakening for me was shutting down of 1/3rd population in the Lombardy area of Italy. That was a wake up call for me. I began reading about the precautions needed to be taken. This was on Mar 08, 2020 when India had about 40 cases. I began informing my family, my wife's family and friends and did my bit to inform people. It was clear that the only way to fight the virus was to be informed. For all those who don't know where to check for updates from India, the Ministry of health is doing a pretty damn good job! https://www.mohfw.gov.in/

However, I did not anticipate that it would bring a major financial risk to me. I have recently launched a new business and was in early stages of manufacturing the product I plan to sell. However, as the nation goes into lockdown, and I am away from my manufacturing area, I have no clue how to manage it. The business is of course boot-strapped and every bit of delay implies revenue lost and there is no way to recover that. Moreover, savings are limited to tolerate an extended lockdown of three months. The recent stock market mayhem has also impacted the investment portfolio. I will be exiting all positions tomorrow that have any bit of green. I am preparing for a plan B and will start executing it tomorrow but risks remain. I know I am not alone in it. Every small business is facing the same problem. My heart goes out to all those in temp jobs or those in gig economies, or hourly wage workers. The impact on their lives makes the risks I am facing look irrelevant. However, can't get over it.

I haven't had the time to go through the whole steemit and hive fiasco. This is my first post on hive. And now stuck in the National Capital Region, I think I will have to write more to ensure some form of income. I hope that all those who have limited savings and are at the risk of losing their job or are facing loses in their small business see an end to it quite soon. I would like to hear your stories too, as that makes me feel less alone in this. Also, please let me know how as a small business you are mitigating the financial risk.

Stay safe everyone!

I am also setting @ph-fund as a 20% beneficiary of what I earn from this post, an initiative by @project.hope.

Sort:  

Resteemed already :) Upvote on the way

Mhen! The issue on coronavirus is really getting out of hand in some part of the world. I never knew Indian also has largest report cases on Coronavirus making them loose more amount of people in the process just like it's happening in China.

This is my first post on hive. And now stuck in the National Capital Region, I think I will have to write more to ensure some form of income

This is really good to hear and I hope you earn more with your quality posts on the platform.

Thanks for sharing this great post with love from @hardaeborla ❤️💕❤️

 4 years ago 

Dear @karamyog

Thanks for sharing your experience in that difficult situation. I figured that moving around at this time can be very tricky. One cannot be sure if accidentaly he or she would end up in quarantine zone. Or being locked out away from home and family, as many people across the were.

Today, there are 341 confirmed cases and 5 deaths

Considering size and population of india - you're still hardly "touched" by this virus. However one can wonder, how many people were actually tested. Somehow I don't believe in India's health system and I would expect impact of coronavirus to be much greater.

Given the population of the country and poor public health system, India is focusing on isolation strategy, as opposed to Testing as recommended by WHO.

Good strategy. But ... do people listen? Do they stay at their homes?

The biggest awakening for me was shutting down of 1/3rd population in the Lombardy area of Italy. That was a wake up call for me.

Indeed. For many it was a huge wake up call. I actually didn't think any EU country would have political strength to do it.

ps. I'm sorry to hear that your new project has been affected. I know how do you feel. I've lost 70-80% of my income already and I also wonder how my future will look like now.

Stay safe buddy,
Yours, Piotr

Currently in my country, about 32 cases have been detected and people are still going on with their usual activities although, some people are already placing themselves on self quarantine. This Coronavirus outbreak is really causing a lot of economic setback for citizens especially those who own businesses.

Currently in my country, about 32 cases have been detected and people are still going on with their usual activities although, some people are already placing themselves on self quarantine. This Coronavirus outbreak is really causing a lot of economic setback for citizens especially those who own businesses.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55