Introduction for DCooperation Community from greatnorthcrypto

2DC.jpg

Hello, I go by greatnorth. I am a resident of Nunavut, Canada and reside above the arctic circle. I am new to the steem community as well as the DC community but look forward to fostering and growing this community into a great thing one day. What I like about the DC community is that it is multicultural with people from all walks of life taking part. I plan on spreading the word of Steemit to my local area to try and show people that cryptocurrency is more than just a "bit coin." I think the ease of use that comes from a platform like steem will help the people in this isolated community spread their stories and creations throughout the world. If someone could point me to a spot where I could buy steem stickers and trinkets to hand out I would be grateful. Preferably I would like to buy those things with Steem! I also plan on showing them the D Cooperation community so they are welcomed into the world of Steem gently and with open arms.

20191205_214819.jpg

My general interests are diy electronics kits, 3d printing and D&D. There's plenty more than that, they tend to vary day by day though. I am starting a youtube channel dedicated to small electronic diy kits that I solder together myself. The kits are aimed at beginners which is great because I am a beginner! Oh. Retro video games. I'm a big fan of the older generations of videogames. Not that the new ones aren't great, but the old ones have a special place in my heart. That is what I want to use steemit for. A retro gaming review blog that helps you find hidden gems or relive the glory days of your youth without having to drag out the master system.

Please forgive my photo. My phone shut off from the cold before I could reframe for a better shot. That's another thing I want to work on. My photography skills are woefully lacking! I am standing on ocean ice in the photo facing shore. The chunky white blocks against the background are large pieces of ice heaved up and frozen in place. It's a little spooky for me to be standing on the ocean because I am originally from a place where the largest body of water is manmade. Now I'm zooming across the ocean on a snowmobile!

Igloolik.jpeg

Igloolik is a small Inuit community in the northwest passage. A small island with about 1,800 inhabitants. There are two grocery stores and two convenience stores. There are several churches and even a hotel. There is three schools, but only two are utilized at the moment as the third school is nearing completion. Hunting is a very important part of life and it is not uncommon for the town to come to a stand still when a herd of animals has wandered close to our community. There is also a large scene of traditional Inuit carvers who work with stone as well as materials procured from the hunts, like the tusks of animals as well as the baleen and bones from whales. Being a northern community, the sun has set on us and won't return until around January 10th. But as you can see by the photo, no sun does not mean total darkness. Although that picture above was taken at noon.

20191205_214655.jpg

20191205_214713.jpg

20191205_214732.jpg

Sort:  

Very good presentation, welcome, continue to reap success and help others.

You're very welcome to steem blockchain and to our community @dcooperation as well. ☺

I would love to get a 3D printer someday, aye. So, hey, welcome.

Thank you for the warm welcome! Creality Ender 3's can be purchased for under $200USD when on sale. And well worth twice that price for the quality you can produce on this budget machine. It is a very popular model of printer too, so there is plenty of parts and support available all around the internet. I highly recommend the Ender 3 as a first printer. It's my first and I have been running it 24/7 for 5 weeks now and it hasn't given me any grief. Very solid unit for a very fun hobby.

20191104_160432.jpgJPEG_20191126_180836.jpg

If you're worried that you won't have any ideas on what to print there is thingiverse and youmagine to find well over 100,000 different things to print. From busts of your favorite action hero's to practical things like phone stands you print for $0.13 instead of buy at the store for $13.00. And once you have one you find it almost makes work for itself. Something breaks and you go online, find the replacement part or model it yourself, wait a few minutes for it to print and you just saved $150 fixing that plastic clip on your dryer that broke.
JPEG_20191125_084741.jpg

Oh, and I didn't even factor in the good feelings you get from showing off your prints to friends and family and blowing their minds. That's worth the $200 alone, my friend. I look forward to seeing you in the hobby one day. If you do get a 3d printer and remember me please find a way to tag me in your post or use my twitter link in another comment in this thread to show me what you print!
20191125_184714.jpg

Have you published posts about this yet?

No, I have not. But that is a really good idea. I regret not documenting the building of the printer. But there are many videos on that. Maybe I should release a post about how to level the print bed.

Welcome to the STEEM Blockchain, @greatnorthcrypto! We share a love for RPG Gaming. This includes live table top, online via roll20.net and a RP based MMO which has been covered in my blog a bit.

Following with interest!

Welcome to steemit @greatnorthcrypto.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

I would love to see your youtube channel when it will be on!
I love to see some videos about Arduino, I have saw many projects about Otto DIY, did you see that?

Oh I forgot to say Welcome to Steemit!

Welcome to Steemit,hope you enjoy this platform. I've had a lot of fun the past few months and I believe you will too.

Welcome to Steemit! It's really a great place for the enthusiast writers and for the people who want to share their good work with the world! :)

Welcome to Steem greatnorthcrypto! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61285.21
ETH 2922.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66