You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What to Do in Case of Identity Theft? / Was tun bei Identitätsdiebstahl?

in Steemit Feedback2 years ago
It seems a complex problem for the common user who often does not care to check if his content has been copied or in many cases does not even know what HIVE or BLURT is.

I don't know what actions the other chains can take or even how STEEM has prepared itself to face this reality, however, among the possible solutions I can think of the following:

If I do not want my user identity (nickname) to be used to impersonate me in these other chains a very simple solution would come by creating an account in those other chains with my same STEEM user, even if I do not use them at least it will serve to prevent someone else to do so and abuse it.

If when trying to create it, it turns out that it already exists, proceed with the steps required in each chain to report impersonation.

I believe that only the affected person is capable of detecting that his identity has been impersonated after having the interest to investigate.

If only the content is copied, I suppose the same plagiarism rules would apply.

I never imagined that this was being done (impersonating users in the different networks). But I think it's been so long since then that the new accounts have grown and the abusers don't seem to waste any time looking for loopholes to exploit.

Sort:  

creating an account in those other chains with my same STEEM user

Yes, at the moment, as written above, the recommendation to create an account everywhere seems to me the only option. But that's terrible! Which "normal", interested in blogging person registers under these conditions anywhere at all?

If only the content is copied, I suppose the same plagiarism rules would apply.

Even for "plagiarism" we use no clear measures here. The whales keep out of flagging, then nothing comes for a long time and small users are ineffective. The attempt to establish a large delegation account flagging from the community has already failed twice. "Club votes" are more important....

abusers don't seem to waste any time looking for loopholes to exploit.

Hm, the world is bad...

Nevertheless, on the Day of Resurrection, Happy Easter to you and your family!

Thanks friend!!! hope you had a great week too!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67576.09
ETH 3762.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72