Two good signs for steemit: college kids and segwit2x

in #hodl7 years ago

OK, quick story. I'm technically at work, but I have to bust this story out. I was walking by some college kids who were waiting for lab. The story goes something like

"Man it was $0.08 back a few years ago. Now it's seven grand. If I invested a 1,000 back then I'd be a millionaire right now.
I didn't even know about it... I wish I could have invested in it."

I walk away from this for a second, and then come back and say "sorry to interupt here's the thing. BTC isn't the only crypto out there. Have you heard of Steemit? No? Ok, well it's a crypto currency similar to BTC and you can exchange pretty easily for others, but you can also post stories and earn rewards doing it. You're a college kid. Just type up your notes from class and put it in an article and you'll start making money."

I got a bunch of "hey thanks mister" from these random millenials. To be honest I was nervous that I wasn't in a furry costume nor did I have gifts of MDMA for them. I thought they may not accept me as I am, but they were kind. So, hopefully I will continue to introduce our lord and savior blockchain while wandering around campus.

The main point though is that BTC is mainstreem. It's at the water cooler in colleges. Kids are thinking this is a future space for them. Just hang on to your investments cause I don't think it matters financially what you pick cause the crypto space is gonna get a ton of money poured in.

segwit2x

@scaredycatguide dropped by the Deepend in PALnet. He just wanted to make sure everyone knew that that SEGWIT2x had been cancelled. They're apparently worried about making 8 million btc clones and diluting their value... If only they had a platform that could go through 19 HARDforks (not just softforks) without splitting the chain 19 ways. If only there was something like that out in the world... and if only they had a neon green logo of chatboxes in a provocative sexual position...

Anyway, I'm no finanical expert, but I think Steemit and the other alts have been oversold for a while as people poured into btc hoping to get their next shit-btc-coin. Now it's cancelled... so, my thought is folks are going to cash out what they made and it's probably gonna dump into some alt coins that are on sale right now. This isn't financial advice, but I'm sharing that I'm not powering down or selling Steem right now.

MSPsteem.com

This post has been created on mspsteem.com. It's a clone of steemit, but it's run by the Minnow Support Project (thanks @netuoso) and provides a 5% beneficiary of all posts back to @minnowsupport. In exchange for using it I curate heavily and provide upvotes and resteems from @aggroed and @minnowsupport to those using the website and tagging their posts with mspsteem.

Sort:  

@aggroed I imagined the picture of you walking on the site and listening to those kids, then turning bac and going to them telling about steem. I think they are already on it earning some cash, and learning about steem, steemit and the crypto world. Thanks for sharing this interesting story. upvoted. @gold84

I'm glad they accepted you even tho u had no MDMA for them lol Steems up a sniff today, be interesting to see what happens now there's no free coins for ppl that been putting all their money in BTC

This is very true! I am a college student at the University of Central Florida and the talk of bitcoin and blockchain has been booming. I am working on spreading the awareness of Steemit! Thanks for sharing.

Get a group together on campus. Make a post. DM it to me in the PALnet Discord channel (check @minnowsupport for the link). I'll resteem it.

Sounds good, I will definitely do so. The more people reached, the better! I actually just made a post yesterday about how a group of students conducted an assigned presentation on blockchain technology. This kind of education will result in cryptos reaching the moon.

Way to be spreading the word to the youngsters! Our son is on Steemit, and he's only 13, he's the first of his friends to earn crypto for writing, he's told a few of em now :) :) :)

DM me in PALnet Discord his handle and I'll resteem one of his posts.

OH MY WORLD!

Segwit cancelled, thank God i didn't power down for that joke-fork

Much love Mayor Aggroed

That's awesome man, the college kids is the EXACT demographic that we need jumping all over crypto. That's what will drive crypto toward being "normal" part of life.

Absolutely! the new generations will be the ones who massively adopt cryptocurrencies and make them a normal part of our lives

Haha nice one dude, Bitcoin is kind of breaking the grounds for all other Cryptocurrencies :)

You are as right as rain @aggroed I was just recently talking about us not being Secret agents of Steemit. Bring it up in casual conversation with people you meet, of course make sure you don't sound like an Herbaloid, brake down the walls from the get go.

I've successfully invited 12 people just last week, a few of them are already becoming Steem believers. But this is it... just talking about it to one person a day can make a difference.

Exciting times, I hope the next big crypto wave leads to financial freedom for millions and millions of people ☺

Glad you took some time out of your job to post this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75