New Plantlife!

in #home5 years ago

A6109A25-8918-4A16-9FAA-12DCEE9DAAF5.jpeg

Today I got a friend (un)willingly take me plant shopping. I don’t think he knew what he was into before I had some 50 kilos of soil in the shopping cart and I was piling on more. He was also a little conserned that all my plants wouldn’t fit in his two seater, he forbitted me to buy a big palm tree...hmph.

I have a few plants that need to be repotted and then I’m starting a herb garden in the balcony. I am inpatient so I bought some of the herbs as seedlings and some I will grow from the seeds I have. I love using herbs in cooking so I want to have some ready to use right away.

I also bought a some sort of little citrus plant, been wanting one for a long time, and I think the tall one is a sort of fig tree. I am pretty sure they might be the type of plants that can maybe possibly perhaps survive on a south facing balcony. Time will tell. Tomorrow I will make a mess on the balcony and give my plants some tlc.

Sort:  

They look great.

He was also a little conserned that all my plants wouldn’t fit in his two seater, he forbitted me to buy a big palm tree...hmph.

No sun roof?
I was looking at a dwarf lemon tree online the other day but then I read a bad review and got all paranoid about bringing spider mites into my house. Now that it is getting warmer though maybe I will give it a go and keep it outside until I know it is pest free.

No sun roof, had to put one plant on the floor between my legs and hug is so that he could see throught the passinger side window without the leaves blocking the view 😅

I have been dealing with spider/dust mites for a while already and god damn they are annoying. I think the dry winter air was the cause and now I try to shower my plants often to keep them away.

Spider mites love low humidity. Spraying them every day for three days will cause them to get a fungus and die. In theory.

Mine seem to be really fucking persistant, I’ve been showering the infected plants very often but the bastards don’t wanna leave. I resently got a humidifier which I hope will prevent further infestations.

Capt. Jacks Dead Bug Brew is an organic option that works pretty well to knock them down.

Yesterday I attended an American civil war reenactment, where I talked to an herbalist. She told me all about the plants used to sustain the southern states once they were cut off from most medical care. It was a fascinating conversation.

So in the next few days I will be doing what you did, getting my herbs ready. Enjoy the planting. That is always the best part.

Oh that is very fascinating! I would love to learn more about what herbs can do for us, more than taste great in cooking.

Do you know any easy to up keep plants that are good for oxygenating rooms? Thanks again Mark

Posted using Partiko Android

All plants are good for oxygenating rooms so pick any houseplant you like. I have an avocado pit that I planted almost 20 years ago that is my favorite house plant. If you go to a garden center or box store they usually have a house plant section, check the little info cards to make sure you are giving it the right amount of light.

Could you show me a picture of your avocado plant, or what is a tree by now, I assume. My mom has one that is two years old, mine is a one year old, and I’m gonna plant another pit today!

I have kept mine in a small pot and not given it much fertilizer. Under good conditions it would be 16 feet tall and bearing fruit.
P_20190407_153745_HDR.jpg
P_20190407_153726_HDR.jpg

It is about 3 feet tall. Pretty much all avocados that are grown commercially are all grown from cuttings from one tree that was grown in America and none from seed so it's hard to say what the fruit would be like if it fruited, it takes 7 years under good conditions for a tree to fruit.

I’m surprised it’s not bigger! I want mine to grow into a tree, which is going to be really hard to do but I’ll try!

I had another one for a while that was bigger, I like it like that. If you want a real tree plant it in a really big pot and give it fertilizer on the regular and keep it outside when it is not too cold. At our latitude it may or may not fruit.

Awesome thanks a lot for your advice

Posted using Partiko Android

All plants are great, just like @funbobby51 said. If you want easy and resilient plants, my favourites are the ZZ plant and snake plant.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17