You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Radical Unschooling: Bitcoin and Spiderman

in #homeschooling5 years ago

i love you :)

youre teaching all your kids! i know the two Monkees impressed me a lot! hehehe

but what would you suggest for a child who never wants to learn to read? I have a friend who has two daughters - one never learned math, and one never wanted to read - and now they are 18 and 16 and instead of feeling the pressure to learn - they kinda avoid things that require those skills because they're embarrassed now. :(

i dont know how to encourage her - or them... because it seems like its a point of shame for them?? have you come across any techniques that help kids like that?

you can DM me if you want! (or reply to the comment! maybe others have the same question?)

Sort:  

well, even at that age there is still enough time to learn I guess. My ex didn't read or write until he was 12 (and he was in school!!!). Then one day he realized he'd be going to high school soon and needed to be able to read and write and he taught himself in the summer.

I am not sure if I can offer any advice in the matter of your friend's kids, since I haven't been in the situation, but I can ask around in my radical unschooling group.
With my youngest, he had no interest at all, until he realized he'd be able to read all his dinosaur books and figure out things on the pc, so now he is interested. I think it's a matter of figuring out that they need to read in order to learn other things. But THEY will have to do it in the end, no one can do it for them. But I'll see what I can find out and will get back to you.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63316.73
ETH 3077.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87