Radical Unschooling: Bitcoin and Spiderman

IMG_20190514_1841441.jpg

We are homeschoolers. Better even: we are unschoolers. Unschooling means that children learn at their own pace, things that interest them, right at that moment. And for the parents, it means to trust that even though sometimes it seems like they are not learning, they always are. Lately, I've decided that we lean even more towards the radical unschooling method, rather than the 'normal' way. What this means is that we're all unschooling, the kids and I. But also that we're learning what interests us, but also live the way we want. Trust me: I haven't got this down to 100% just yet, but we'll get there.
The thing with radical unschooling is that children will make their own choices in pretty much everything, with my guidance of course and more or less depending on the child. In our house, if I don't send my kids to bed, they will be around me 20 hours a day, especially the youngest. So even though we don't really have set bedtimes, there is a time when I need them to be out of my hair, and I will tell them this. It works both ways this radical unschooling. It's all about setting examples, but also healthy limits in my opinion.

If I feel that it's 'too much', I should be able to express this, with respect, just like they have the freedom to do.
When it comes to food, I tweaked the way my parents did it: you need to try everything, and if you really don't like it, you don't have to eat it. Unfortunately, in our house, this meant you were limited to 2-3 things, and the rest, you'd just have to eat. I remember those long evenings at the table, pushing the food back and forth because I wasn't allowed to leave the table till it was done (the dog LOVED me). I hated it. So I changed this to: try everything, but if you don't like it, you don't have to eat it.
This was fine with my eldest, and then the other two. However, my youngest changed this a bit. He will try it when he wants to, and won't when he doesn't want to. Now, this changes because it could be that he likes to try something today, that he didn't yesterday. Some people might say that he won't eat a thing this way, but I don't have any concerns. The thing is, throughout the day, he'll eat apples, oranges, bananas and he has no issues eating half a raw broccoli while he's looking through his books. So to me, there is really no urgency to 'make' him eat anything he doesn't want to eat because he eats healthy naturally. He's also the forager among the kids: he'll try to eat anything outdoors (unless we know it's poisonous of course) and loves most of the things he picks.
IMG_20190421_141727.jpg

The worry of (not) learning

I've been homeschooling the kids for a while now. My eldest since she was 13, for 2.5 years.
She went back to school, but she is still unschooled at heart. She's 17.5 now and even tells me that she learned more in those 2.5 years at home than what she learns now.
My two middle children only went to resp. one and two years of kindergarten, or pre-school. And my youngest never went to school. Altogether, it's been a little more than 5 years.

There have always been doubts. Sometimes less, other times overwhelming.
Nowadays, they are barely present. I know we're on the right track...most of the time.
We got rid of curriculums. At first, I kept doing maths and reading and writing on a regular basis, but even that has changed. They read and write enough, no point making it into a lesson. And maths? Well, they use it all day long, and if they need to know something new, they pick it up in no time.

But still, I felt like I needed to teach my youngest son how to read. He's going to be 5 in June, and I thought he should at least know how to spell his name. But these were only the lies that are still present in my brain. He doesn't NEED to DO ANYTHING!
I still spoke to him about it. Would he like to learn how to read? He answered with an abrupt: 'no.'
When I told him that he'd be able to read stories, and about his dinosaurs in his books, he got a little more interested, but still not enough to say he wanted to learn how to read. My eldest son taught himself how to read, and with my youngest, I would just love it if I were the one to teach him. And another lie my brain is plagued with. It's MY wish to teach him but maybe he has something else in mind.

S for Spiderman

image.png
source

He showed me that there's nothing to worry about in regards to his reading. He's already learning it and I didn't have a clue!
Last year, he already knew the sign for Bitcoin. He pointed at the logo and said BITCOIN.
Well, now if I ask what B stands for, he replies: B is for Bitcoin.
And the S? Simple: Spiderman. (yeah, he knows Steem, but prefers to use Spiderman)
The X for X-men. Sure, he doesn't know the whole alphabet yet, but that's OK. He'll work his way through A for Avengers, C for Captain America, H for Hulk, and M for Marvel. He loves dinosaurs and the other day he said: 'Mommy, I want to be a digger when I grow up.' So I told him: 'That sounds great! And what will you be digging for?' 'Well, dinosaur bones of course', was the answer. Of course, dinosaurs. I told him that there is actually a name for people who dig up dinosaurs for a living, and his eyes got big when he realized that he could actually make a living with his favorite past-time. And eventually... he'll read. He's only 5. Let's see where we're at next year around this time.

And my eldest son? He is able to name a lot of the countries by looking at their flags. How? Because he likes to watch videos of gamers and sometimes they will show the person's country flag in the videos. To be honest, he knows more than me!

My daughter, 11 in two weeks, will just randomly pick up a book and read it from front to back. The other day she was telling me about the Egyptians and Tutankhamon. When I asked where she learned that, she replied: 'Oh, the history book on the shelf. I read the whole thing...' She's now making little videos with characters she makes in a game. I never told her to, she just came up with it herself.

No worries

I am not a (radical) unschooling expert. Not even close. The only thing I can go by is what I observe in my kids and in what they do. I don't force them to learn, because they want to learn. One may be quicker to learn how to read, while the other takes his time, but meanwhile takes in everything he sees around him and learns from that.
I have a mini-coder/gamer, a little film-maker/dancer/sports-woman, and a miniature archeologist who can find his own food if he needs to and an almost grown teenager who doesn't quite know what she wants to do but has a good time figuring it out for herself.

Not bad...not bad at all.

Thank you for reading!



steemitrevolutionmisslasvegas.gif

steemitrevolution.gif

Sort:  

Wow! You have nerves of steel! I'd be so worried about messing my kid up but then you realize how messed up we were by traditional school and it's really best to let them decide. I learned about unschooling from steemit. I always kind of thought that that's how I'd like to raise my kids but I didn't realize it was already kind of a movement!

Oh definitely! It's been around for quite a while! And when I look at my kids, I wish that my parents would have figured this out. I would have had a blast with my mom cooking, baking and learning about their history etc. and probably reading book after book. And it would have solved two issues in one, since I always felt that she was a bit lonely at times once we were in school and she was at home by herself all day.

And don't get me wrong, I've had my doubts, and still do sometimes. But much less now, and I'd say they'll completely disappear eventually. I see things in them every day that just amazes me. In a way that I'll think: where on earth did you learn that? But they do learn, all day, every day. They learn from everything around them. From me, from each other, from nature around us, the animals, and everything else. And it gets better: I am learning from them too!

and by the way - in case i sound too negative with that weird case. LOL

i totally 100% agree!

we didn't unschool - we homeschooled. but i had the same methods as you! :) every minute of everyday was an opportunity to share and talk and truly communicate - learning about LIFE.. not just facts :)

so - please don't take that case above and think i'm pointing out the negatives.
there will always be outliers. these particular outliers were friends of mine - so that's why i brought it up... wondering if there was anything that you would think would work for them.

but like i said -its been 18 months and they could have finally solved it by now.

having the privilege to teach our own children in the best way they learn and being in tune with that.... is.... AMAZING.

so - let me say that loud and clear hahahahaha

i wouldnt' trade it for the world and i'm glad I was given the opportunity to do it! there are some people who just dont have that ability - and i'm grateful that we were able to embrace it and thrive <3 (and glad you do too!! hehehe)

Hello @misslasvegas! I found your article very very intrigued. I am a new mom and me and my husband are already thinking on how do we school our kid (kids in the future). We thought of home schooling but now that I read this, I found some good perspectives of the unschooling method. I like it. Maybe I would try mixing homeschooling with unschooling. Or hmmm.... I think as parents we do this on a daily basis even if we dont realise it. Anyways, great post. Thank you for giving me another point of view regarding 'schooling thing'. It is something that I will remember when I'll have the time to read about. Just added the subject in my "research related to kids education" list. 🙂💛

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @missdeli! Nice to meet you! And I'm happy to see you found my article intriguing.
There are quite a few homeschoolers/unschoolers here on Steem, but there's a huge home/unschooling and radical unschooling community on Facebook (still trying to get them all here hehe). I found that the one learning the most along this journey is me really. The kids haven't been programmed like I have, so I am doing the most unschooling. During our first beginnings, I had to 'undo' a lot of what I thought was right versus what was the best way for a child to learn. I literally went from curriculum homeschooling with a schedule to unschooling in only a few weeks, because I realized that they didn't need nor want the scheduled way and that if I let them be, they'd learn the most amazing things.
Then, because I also had a lot of other things to do, as I am working from home, I 'let things slide' for a bit and was doing less 'schooling' and let them do their thing. And I found that this brought out the best in them. Of course, each child is different. But for us, somehow it works for everyone. And yes, there are moments when I feel a bit bad for letting my son on the pc too much, but when he tells me about all these things I would have never even thought of 'teaching' him, I realize that we're on the right track.

Good luck on your research and don't forget to have fun!
Children learn from the moment they're born, without us interfering, they definitely don't need someone to tell them how to learn :) Their mind is open, we need to open ours more!

Thank you so much for your lovely comment, it made my day 💛

i love you :)

youre teaching all your kids! i know the two Monkees impressed me a lot! hehehe

but what would you suggest for a child who never wants to learn to read? I have a friend who has two daughters - one never learned math, and one never wanted to read - and now they are 18 and 16 and instead of feeling the pressure to learn - they kinda avoid things that require those skills because they're embarrassed now. :(

i dont know how to encourage her - or them... because it seems like its a point of shame for them?? have you come across any techniques that help kids like that?

you can DM me if you want! (or reply to the comment! maybe others have the same question?)

well, even at that age there is still enough time to learn I guess. My ex didn't read or write until he was 12 (and he was in school!!!). Then one day he realized he'd be going to high school soon and needed to be able to read and write and he taught himself in the summer.

I am not sure if I can offer any advice in the matter of your friend's kids, since I haven't been in the situation, but I can ask around in my radical unschooling group.
With my youngest, he had no interest at all, until he realized he'd be able to read all his dinosaur books and figure out things on the pc, so now he is interested. I think it's a matter of figuring out that they need to read in order to learn other things. But THEY will have to do it in the end, no one can do it for them. But I'll see what I can find out and will get back to you.

Loading...

with your +13 one, how was she admitted back in school? No issue? Did you follow kind of a curriculum at that age?

My daughter is 15 now, most schools i have been contacting (Portugal) were asking for previous school proof, exam proof or certification...

Posted using Partiko Android

Here they never asked for any of that. Now, she is going to a more hands-on school and would need an extra year if she wanted to go to college. But I'm pretty sure if she had gone to a 'regular' form of highschool they would have had to accept her since schooling was still compulsory when she went back. I'm not sure how things work in Portugal. Are you in Portugal now @bubke? We're going to Portugal too :)

We are in India, i was checking Portugal out last summer. We have too many Visa issued in India, my antennas are out on other locations, will hopefully get to Steemfest and check Thailand out. Bangkok is quite heavy though :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, I wouldn't want to live in Bangkok, but there are many other places I'd consider in Thailand and surrounding countries.

I love this! Yes! I was just going through some old schoolbooks of mine and was shocked at how stupid and mind-numbing they were. I mean, I knew, but was still shocked at the sheer stupidity and the horrible, rude assumption that children are meant to follow. Because all the adults turned out so great, right?

Exactly! It always beats me how we expect our children to go through the same thing that we used to hate growing up (most of the time). It just seems to be that people seem to think that people have to do certain things, whether they like it or not, to get anywhere in life.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi, @misslasvegas!

You just got a 0.26% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @misslasvegas!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.772 which ranks you at #1429 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 92 places in the last three days (old rank 1337).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 172 contributions, your post is ranked at #159.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

this is wild to me... I'd be scared of not teaching them the "right" things. I totally understand the unschooling perspective and props to you for being brave enough to put it into action

Hehe, yeah I was scared too, trust me. Sometimes I still doubt if I'm doing the right thing, but that's always wiped off the table by what they show me. The way you accentuate 'right' shows me that you have your doubts about the school system too. ;)
The thing is, yes, some kids will excel in a school setting but under a lot of pressure.
Some kids will do exactly what they love to do after school/college etc. but there are sooo many more who don't and just do what they're expected to do, or think they want to do or what society thinks they should do. So you'll have those people who work as doctors, dentists, chefs etc. etc. not because they really love the job, but purely for the money or because it was expected of them (trust me, I know). And then there is this handful of unschooled kids, who go out into the world only doing what they love and going for it. Those kids work harder to achieve this, because it's what they really want.
I know which of the dentists I'd want!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01