You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Radical Unschooling: Bitcoin and Spiderman

in #homeschooling5 years ago

Hello @misslasvegas! I found your article very very intrigued. I am a new mom and me and my husband are already thinking on how do we school our kid (kids in the future). We thought of home schooling but now that I read this, I found some good perspectives of the unschooling method. I like it. Maybe I would try mixing homeschooling with unschooling. Or hmmm.... I think as parents we do this on a daily basis even if we dont realise it. Anyways, great post. Thank you for giving me another point of view regarding 'schooling thing'. It is something that I will remember when I'll have the time to read about. Just added the subject in my "research related to kids education" list. 🙂💛

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Hi @missdeli! Nice to meet you! And I'm happy to see you found my article intriguing.
There are quite a few homeschoolers/unschoolers here on Steem, but there's a huge home/unschooling and radical unschooling community on Facebook (still trying to get them all here hehe). I found that the one learning the most along this journey is me really. The kids haven't been programmed like I have, so I am doing the most unschooling. During our first beginnings, I had to 'undo' a lot of what I thought was right versus what was the best way for a child to learn. I literally went from curriculum homeschooling with a schedule to unschooling in only a few weeks, because I realized that they didn't need nor want the scheduled way and that if I let them be, they'd learn the most amazing things.
Then, because I also had a lot of other things to do, as I am working from home, I 'let things slide' for a bit and was doing less 'schooling' and let them do their thing. And I found that this brought out the best in them. Of course, each child is different. But for us, somehow it works for everyone. And yes, there are moments when I feel a bit bad for letting my son on the pc too much, but when he tells me about all these things I would have never even thought of 'teaching' him, I realize that we're on the right track.

Good luck on your research and don't forget to have fun!
Children learn from the moment they're born, without us interfering, they definitely don't need someone to tell them how to learn :) Their mind is open, we need to open ours more!

Thank you so much for your lovely comment, it made my day 💛

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63423.66
ETH 3077.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87