You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Radical Unschooling: Bitcoin and Spiderman

Wow! You have nerves of steel! I'd be so worried about messing my kid up but then you realize how messed up we were by traditional school and it's really best to let them decide. I learned about unschooling from steemit. I always kind of thought that that's how I'd like to raise my kids but I didn't realize it was already kind of a movement!

Sort:  

Oh definitely! It's been around for quite a while! And when I look at my kids, I wish that my parents would have figured this out. I would have had a blast with my mom cooking, baking and learning about their history etc. and probably reading book after book. And it would have solved two issues in one, since I always felt that she was a bit lonely at times once we were in school and she was at home by herself all day.

And don't get me wrong, I've had my doubts, and still do sometimes. But much less now, and I'd say they'll completely disappear eventually. I see things in them every day that just amazes me. In a way that I'll think: where on earth did you learn that? But they do learn, all day, every day. They learn from everything around them. From me, from each other, from nature around us, the animals, and everything else. And it gets better: I am learning from them too!

and by the way - in case i sound too negative with that weird case. LOL

i totally 100% agree!

we didn't unschool - we homeschooled. but i had the same methods as you! :) every minute of everyday was an opportunity to share and talk and truly communicate - learning about LIFE.. not just facts :)

so - please don't take that case above and think i'm pointing out the negatives.
there will always be outliers. these particular outliers were friends of mine - so that's why i brought it up... wondering if there was anything that you would think would work for them.

but like i said -its been 18 months and they could have finally solved it by now.

having the privilege to teach our own children in the best way they learn and being in tune with that.... is.... AMAZING.

so - let me say that loud and clear hahahahaha

i wouldnt' trade it for the world and i'm glad I was given the opportunity to do it! there are some people who just dont have that ability - and i'm grateful that we were able to embrace it and thrive <3 (and glad you do too!! hehehe)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.52
ETH 3097.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88