You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nature At Our Doorstep - Learning At Our Fingertips

in #homeschooling5 years ago

If it's any consolation or help, you do become better at coping with the bugs when you're coming into contact with them so often in the garden. I guess its also a choice; If you really want to garden, you find ways to deal with them. Gloves help!
I can now touch things with bare hands which would previously have freaked me out. Spiders I still handle with care, however. This is Australia, after all! Lol! I had a huntsman (tarantula family) bite me once and I could feel the pressure of its bite through the thick rubber of my gloves!!

Sort:  

That is good to know, I just can’t ever see myself that comfortable lol! But hey anything is possible. 😄

Oh absolutely, I plan on purchasing the thickest gardening gloves ever! Oh gosh that’s scary. Did you have any marks of the bite on you or did the gloves take most of it? Yikes! 😳

I don't think we ever get entirely comfortable with these things, but learn to compartmentalise.

No marks, thankfully the gloves took it all. I just felt the pressure, which surprised me. The back of the gloves is actually just cotton, so I'm glad it didn't bite down there! Usually if you touch a leg it moves away and I was trying to get it into the dustpan to move it. I touched the leg and it grabbed my finger with all legs and chomped down, making me jump. My daughter ran squealing across the garden! Glad I was wearing the gloves, but I may not have been so brave without them anyway.

Oh my goodness I just visualized what happened and I probably would have fainted. I can’t imagine seeing a spider grabbing me with all eight legs...yikes! I’m so glad you had on those gloves.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63697.39
ETH 3145.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83