What I've Learnt From Homeschooling my Daughters.

We have what will be our final assessment from the home education office coming up. Once my youngest turns 17, she'll no longer be on their register and I will no longer have to prove my ability to teach my children, once a year. Don't get me wrong, all the home education officers have been lovely, supportive and helpful, but there is still that feeling of big brother breathing down your neck. It likely helps that we have the right appearance for them. Married, a reasonable income with the ability to buy resources some families may not be able to and a clean and well maintained house.

Filling in the forms ready for assessment has been interesting this year, because meeting all the curriculum areas becomes less of a worry as they look towards where their focus will go as they consider careers and the job market. Because of this, I haven't been worrying too much about covering every curriculum area. So when it came to filling in something for all the areas, I was wondering if there would be something I couldn't make an entry for.

IMG_20190809_195025.jpg

There are 8 areas to cover in the Australian curriculum; maths, English and science I did make sure she had covered. English was more done via encouraging her to write about what she's been doing with her photography and she's been writing a fiction story. Maths and science she mostly did on Khan Academy, with her older sister teaching a bit of extra maths. Health physical education she mostly covers with her gymnastics we are health aware in the house with cooking and food choices too. Languages isn't something they worry too much about for home edders, but we do have an interest in German because of family and friend connections.

We hadn't purposely covered the arts but I realised daily life often covers these things. My mum took her to Sydney late last year, where she went to the Sydney Opera House. Her current interest is photography, which comes under the arts. She makes her own greetings cards for friends and family's birthdays and even the performance side of her gymnastics counts towards the arts.

Technologies was again covered by her love of photography. She uses editing software and studies online. The camera itself is technology that she uses. Then I came unstuck for a moment with humanities and social sciences, before I remembered that this area is mostly our day to day interactions; cultures, politics, business, geography and such. I just needed to single out some of the things we discuss from news, politics and even her travels. We enjoy documentaries and some of these fall into this area.

For me, filing in these forms today has given me more insight into the effectiveness of unschooling, which is something I've always struggled with due to having them in the school system for the first few years of their compulsory education. Over the years of homeschooling, it's been a slow move for me away from trying to enforce a more structured learning environment, which rarely worked for long, to more of a child lead learning approach. Each year I would worry that we weren't covering everything if I didn't put enough structure in.

With my eldest now in university, something she took control of and worked towards herself, I now know that despite not having teaching accreditations, I had the ability to raise and educate my children to fend for themselves in the adult world. Now I'm confident that life offers us plenty of learning opportunities and we just need to allow our children to follow them while we offer support and encouragement.

~○♤○~

Sort:  

I found homeschooling very easy, as it is literally impossible to stop kids from learning things they want to know. In Oregon all that was required by the state was a letter stating my kids were being homeschooled, and biannual proctored testing. I learned a lot from my kids during the process, as when they were interested in something, like astronomy, Indians, or whatever, I learned right along with them as I showed them how to research subjects for themselves.

Today my sons are successful professionals in their chosen careers, and I could not be more glad I homeschooled. I reckon it's the best thing I ever did.

Thanks!

I too have learnt so much more from homeschooling them. My eldest wanted to do her times tables, so I now know them better than I ever did at school! I think school can actually knock the natural urge to learn out of them when it forces them to learn by rote, something they're not interested in.

It's not a great feeling to hear how many countries are banning it or tightening up on it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Last I checked homeschooling was growing at an incredible rate: 66% per year, at least in the US. People love their kids, and no bureaucrats are going to change that for good parents. When push comes to shove, my kids did, and always will, come first. There was no mechanism that could have prevented me from homeschooling, as I was determined to enable my kids to know facts and not be lied to as was I in indoctrination centers known as public schools.

There were some attempts, and the principal of the local elementary school once revealed that me homeschooling was costing the school district ~$20k/year in federal funds. I thought that was a bargain for my kids not being misled, and that was the end of that.

Not everyone is as immune to such pressure, but I was nowhere close to my limit. I know many good parents feel the same way, and the statistics regarding homeschooling growth demonstrate that. In a way, people succumbing to bureaucratic pressure to enroll their kids in public schools is an evolutionary force. Kids that learn facts are better prepared for real life, and parents that love them enough to make sure they do are a survival trait.

So far, that's what my kids succeeding has shown me as well. No better example of homeschooling import than successful homeschooled kids could exist, and I think that's why homeschooling is growing so fast in the USA.

It seems we both did our part to inspire our communities to better prepare their kids by providing good examples. We have undertaken our civic duty, as well as our parental duty. I am proud of that, and you shoud be too.

A 66% increase might be why they're pushing back against it.
I've never had any pressure from anyone with regards schooling, although I have heard of people locally who have. Maybe it's my resting b**ch face which puts people off trying to argue it with me. 😆

Successful adults is certainly a shining example. Someone's you feel you have to excel when you do things that are not considered the norm, in order to prove yourself, because you're guaranteed to come under scrutiny and people will be quick to latch onto the "failures."

I am proud of that, and you shoud be too.

Thank you.

Posted using Partiko Android

hahah your resting bitch face, would love to see that!!!

During the last century, homeschooling has become a weird thing or method to teach your children. Actually adults are also busy to homeschool themselves: how to educate your child, how to feed them with the ideal rich-in-vitamins food, how to play with them, and they read a lot of books about life, about how to deal with depression, about history or just a book how to use the pc for dummies :) Homeschooling is just a word, it can mean studying at home, but you can put other definitions like learning at a quiet warm place surrounded with all the trustworthy heartful people that you like very much :)

I think you can't measure homeschooling - or any schooling - until you have a longitudinal view. Like 20 years down the line. Does your daughter end up passing Uni and getting the qualification she wants-needs? Is she happy? Is she skilled to contribute in the area of her choosing? The rest is all just forms and process. Likewise YOU will only know 20 years on how you really did....

What matters most is that NOTHING you or any school does is ultimately relevant. The heart, soul and purpose of the young person is everything, and will find its path like a stream finds its way down a mountain, in its time. Einstein showed us that, as did Helen Keller.

All is well. What are you going to do next with all that spare time? LOL....

What are you going to do next with all that spare time?

I wish I could say, "live in the garden," but I might need to find work.

My eldest loves learning, so hopefully that continues through her years at uni. So far she's loving it and that's the most important thing for me. Her emotional well being wasn't so great in the lead up, so having a purpose and making new friends has been really good for her.

What are you going to do next with all that spare time?

I wish I could say, live in the garden, but I might need to find work.

My eldest loves learning, so hopefully that continues through her years at uni. So far she's living and that's the most important thingfor me. Her emotional well being wasn't so great I the lead up, so having a purpose and making new friends had been really good for her.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahahahaaa que cómica te ves en esa foto, saludos y éxitos

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hardest thing I’ve found with homeschooling is always feeling like whatever I’m doing is never enough and I’ve doomed them to failure. Damn this responsibility thing if I’d shoved them in school and they weren’t doing well then I could blame the school 🤣

You have to fill in forms? 😱 we just have to keep notes to show and discuss with the moderator.

Posted using Partiko iOS

if I’d shoved them in school and they weren’t doing well then I could blame the school

Yup! 😆 There have been moments when I've felt like shoving my youngest back in school to let them take the blame of failing her! We worked through it and she's taking on more responsibility herself now, though.

They like you to fill in firms and sign them before they come, then they add bits to it as they chat with you. They also like to see what books you're using and some work too, but they're obliged to look through everything that the kids might want to show them, so they prefer not to be over loaded and there for hours. They encourage just a few bits to get an idea of what they've been doing.

Posted using Partiko Android

OOh, what is your youngest doing at uni? Kudos for you to nailing this. You truly are amazing. In many ways I wish I'd homeschooled my boy, but then, he was quite lucky with his education and the school he was at, and did really enjoy it. Plus, he had lots of rich life experiences being with a crazy Mum like me - travelling a lot, lots of interests, cooking, music, gardening, a physicist/mechanic for a step dad - I think he ended up pretty well rounded with a very CRITICAL mind.

My girls had good and bad experiences at public schools, which you expect to a degree. They had some amazing teachers and mediocre ones. It was when we moved and went to a local private school that ended up causing enough aggro to prompt me to look into homeschooling. When you've got a girl who'll learn from any style of teaching and loves learning, but she's losing interest, then you know something is really not right. Then when your youngest gets made an example of by a teacher who just doesn't like her...final straw. Admittedly, I was warned about the school, but forgot until they were there.

I think your son would certainly have had a well rounded education with you on one side and a good school on the other.

Posted using Partiko Android

PS: "what is your youngest doing at uni?"
did you mean my eldest? My youngest isn't interested in uni, at least not at the moment. My eldest is doing a science degree, majoring in microbiology and... something else which I always forget. She's hoping to switch over after the first semester to bachelor of science, biomedical science, I think she said. It has a longer title, anyway.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62205.45
ETH 2999.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79