You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What I've Learnt From Homeschooling my Daughters.

in #homeschooling5 years ago

OOh, what is your youngest doing at uni? Kudos for you to nailing this. You truly are amazing. In many ways I wish I'd homeschooled my boy, but then, he was quite lucky with his education and the school he was at, and did really enjoy it. Plus, he had lots of rich life experiences being with a crazy Mum like me - travelling a lot, lots of interests, cooking, music, gardening, a physicist/mechanic for a step dad - I think he ended up pretty well rounded with a very CRITICAL mind.

Sort:  

My girls had good and bad experiences at public schools, which you expect to a degree. They had some amazing teachers and mediocre ones. It was when we moved and went to a local private school that ended up causing enough aggro to prompt me to look into homeschooling. When you've got a girl who'll learn from any style of teaching and loves learning, but she's losing interest, then you know something is really not right. Then when your youngest gets made an example of by a teacher who just doesn't like her...final straw. Admittedly, I was warned about the school, but forgot until they were there.

I think your son would certainly have had a well rounded education with you on one side and a good school on the other.

Posted using Partiko Android

PS: "what is your youngest doing at uni?"
did you mean my eldest? My youngest isn't interested in uni, at least not at the moment. My eldest is doing a science degree, majoring in microbiology and... something else which I always forget. She's hoping to switch over after the first semester to bachelor of science, biomedical science, I think she said. It has a longer title, anyway.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66251.96
ETH 3068.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70