2019 Pepper Season - Part 3

in #homesteaders5 years ago

Welcome to my 2019 Pepper Season


It's been 2 weeks now since my last pepper update so here it is, just a small quick update since there is not much action going on.

Peps2017.jpg


Toad Divide.png

Failed Germinations

As you may remember most of my super hots have failed to germinate. I'm still keeping up a bit of hope for them but with no sign of seedlings the hope is fading.

They will remain on the heat mat until its warm enough to bring them outside where I hope the sun can maybe help some to get the seeds popping.


Toad Divide.png

New Species Started

So far not much action on the new species that have been planted. I do see a small root coming out of some of the Brazilian Starfish Peppers and one Banana Pepper. I also have some discoloration on lots of the seeds which tells me there is some mold or bacteria growing in there.


I did not give them a hydrogen peroxide bath before germination which in hindsight would have been a good thing. I think this maybe the reason I've had little luck in the germination is because they've been not properly stored and maybe not well enough washed. I as well did not do a 24 hour soak, I just put them directly into paper towel. Well, you live and you learn right. In the future I will have to be a little more diligent in my storing and germinating process.


Toad Divide.png

The Seedlings

And here we have the babies. They're growing quicker everyday and even the Orange Habanero is starting to get some size.




Toad Divide.png

Thanks for checking out my post and as always keep Blazin on Steemians!


earth tribe.png











banner.jpg

Sort:  

Keep up the good work man. Peppers aren't the simplest crop!
I haven't started any here yet. So rainy, so cool. Maybe it'll be a hot summer, even if it's not a long one? I'll probably germinated a few pepper seeds soon. Tomatoes are coming along nicely, and the basil's up, so might as well! :)
Happy growing!

Thanks. Yeah the really hot varieties can be stubborn for sure. Ive even used aquarium fertilizer salt to start them in the past which i read a few years back is one of the best ways to get the hard ones going.
What kind of varieties of peppers are you growing this year?

Nice.
I think I'll do a classic bell and a few jalapenos, nothing too exotic. Patio container gardening isn't my main area of experience, but I'm getting the hang of it.

Congratulations @bluntsmasha! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 70 posts. Your next target is to reach 80 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Bluntsmasha | Canna-GHRO-Kings from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61665.59
ETH 2884.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62