Long time no see

in #homesteading6 years ago

I wasn't all that sure that I would return to steemit, but I really miss writing. I have a new website that I've been working on, but I'm not that great at figuring out how to use it and I only write in swedish for now. I miss writing here so I thought I might give it a try. Again.

It has been months since my last post, I don't know where to begin!

I'll just start by summing up this summer. Not a very great gardening season, we've had way to many wildfires and that meant we got restrains on water use. The water in our village was about to run out so we've been doing bucket baths and no laundry for weeks and we couldn't water our garden as well as needed. It was kind of a surprice taking bucket baths at home instead of in our cabin as I was expecting.
I'm so happy I decided to take a break from everything that needed to be sown indoors early. I wouldn't have been able to keep them alive in my greenhouse during the long period of warm weather. I usually don't long for fall, but this year I really did. I don't cope very well with heat. I believe we managed alright, but the kids and I spent a lot of time indoors trying to cope with the heat. We did however go on a short vacation that I'm gonna tell you more about in another post.

I did get to harvest some in my garden, but not much. We got some potatoes, carrots, a couple of red and yellow beets, bolting fennel (I dehydrated what I could use and mixed it to a powder), summer squash, carrots, parsnips, herbs and a few turnips and radishes. Besides really low germination I've had a lot of bolting plants, I'm so looking forward to the next season.


This is some of the produce I got from my garden this season. The potatoes was the one thing that actually gave us a harvest to be happy about even if it didn't do as well as expected. If there's anything I've learned this year it has to be how to value small produce, I've turned most of the harvest into vegetable powder and that's something we really use a lot of. I got a small harvest of spinash early in the summer and I dehydrated all of it. So now my kids eat spinash, I never saw that one coming!
When I think about it, I think I dehydrated just about everything. Even the summer squash.

Now I need to get going, I'm taking my daughter to the dentist this afternoon so I need to get some eyebrows on. I'll take some time later tonight to check in on everyone and get a bit more updated.

Until next time, be well.
//S

Sort:  

Hi,
I like you article. I wonder why you stopped. I do like to harvesting, but don’t have place nearby.
You are talking about your new website. Share with us also when it get over, So that we can also view your site.
Take care of your health because of summer.
Please do post such articles on regular basis. Will be eagerly waiting for your posts.
Thanks.

Thank you for your reply! It's nice to hear you liked my post. I've got a few ideas for future posts so I'm planning to post again quite soon. I'll share my website when and if I can post in english too, I haven't really worked that out just yet. Thank you so much for your words of encouragement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60896.14
ETH 2915.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55