You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Freezing Day Around the Homestead (and another lesson learned) ~ Chickens, Deer and Bees!

So there's no need to check on the queen as long as there is buzzing? I suppose opening up the hive to do so would just let all the warmth out and be worse for the bees, wouldn't it?

And oh no, the poor chickens! That's not a fun time at all. Hopefully they stay warmer now with the modifications you made. :-)

And yeah deer feed! That's totally something I would do.

Sort:  

Lol I was thinking the same thing about opening the hive ..

I just watched another video...I guess no matter what there's not much you can do if something is wrong anyways, so I'm not going to chance it *even though I want to lol! They have extra sugar inside and I think as long as I keep the snow cleared they have a good chance? Its kind of stressful lol!

I thought bees hibernated throughout the winter... my neighbor had bees growing up but he was old and I already knew everything so of course I didn't listen... I hope they'll be okay.. fingers crossed..

I think they do, but some stay alert for safety. I know that they should be huddled together inside the hive...and hahaha didn't we know it all?? ;)

I was reading on line that you could open it for 30 seconds to check in the winter, but it is so cold that I was afraid to. It is our first winter with bees!
I know! I felt so bad that happend:( They were so cold, I really hope they are warm now. Yessss the deer feed! I saw it and had to get it lol. Food is scarce and they are looking near the roads now!!

The zoo I used to work at has a bee colony. They've not had much luck getting them to live through the winter, pretty sure it's the exhibit set up. I hope yours pull through! I definitely want some of my own some day.

I never realized they would have bees! I hope they overwinter alright too. I also hope you get bees someday!<3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62280.19
ETH 2997.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.08