Freezing Day Around the Homestead (and another lesson learned) ~ Chickens, Deer and Bees!

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Today was the 6th day of really cold temperatures here, and I was worried about the bees. We decided to do a hive check at the same time we brought the chickens breakfast and let them out for the day.

The high winds cleared off the greenhouse for me. Still holding up, thankfully!
20171230_101911.jpg

It turned out that the bees were fine, but our chickens weren't the best.
Bees first.....

20171230_101933.jpg

The "second garden" (because it was the 2nd garden we put in haha) as we call it grew mostly squashes, brassica, carrots and herbs. Last night the deer were in it!
20171230_101954.jpg

They dug up and cabbage stems, squash I had missed and a row of kale/basil was disturbed
20171230_102003.jpg

smart deer!
20171230_102049.jpg

whole sunflower heads gone now!
20171230_102103.jpg

hidden squash
20171220_101831.jpg

Back to the bees. We are going out to make sure the entrance is clear so the can still send workers out to check things out, to make sure it is still stable and to give a listen to see if we can hear any activity. Mostly, to make sure the entrance is cleared. The rest is only for our own peace of mind, really.

back of the hive, looks good!
20171230_102138.jpg

the entrance is actually pretty good
20171230_102145.jpg

Cleared it off for them, found a few dead bees. This is normal, it means they are doing their jobs...but it makes me a bit sad
20171230_102240.jpg

20171230_102243.jpg

Listening for sounds of life......faint buzzing. All seems well
20171230_102336.jpg

Now to the coop! It isn't as far as it looks haha!

20171230_102123.jpg

As soon as I slid the coop door open I realized something was wrong...the birds all came out in a rush as usual, but there was steam too!?! All of the girls had a tiny bit of frost on the feathers on their backs, but our silkie roo had crystals forming on his head and tail feathers and fine frost on his fur/feathers. Oh no.
Kick it into high gear. Rooster comes inside and I go back out to fix this.

Mr. Hendrix inside thawed and drying off
20171230_151400.jpg

It turns out the top ventilation panels had frozen shut. You need ventilation to prevent moisture build up. Those were chipped open again, but I decided since we are running another week at these temps to get more bedding down. The coop is also big for our flock of 11 since we are planning on adding more girls in the spring. This can be a problem as well, to much air and not enough body warmth to heat it.

Roadtrip to get more straw, woodchips, as well as cracked corn to beef up the chicken scratch at night (digestion provides warmth all night if fed at bed time) and we decided to get deer feed and salt licks too for the deer!

The farm we get our straw and feed from. I love this place....and the toys here! #farmgoals 😉
*The sign says "Area patrolled by Attack Cow" haha!"
20171230_164912.jpg

Cold air, don't care....
20171230_164939.jpg

So many bales and barn cats!
20171230_135718.jpg

Scratch, corn, sunflower seeds for the chickens and deer feed. We buy from this farmer and skip the big box feed stores.
20171230_165030.jpg

Back home to finish the coop. I removed any poop and spread 2 bags of woodchips to a depth of about 4" in the coop to add to the deep litter method. Then almost a whole bale of straw went in, bringing the litter "bed" to about a foot. For extra measure at least for the week, we closed off one side of the coop with a straw "tunnel" made of extra bales. Finally, a treat of cracked corn and sunflower seeds to digest all night and create more warmth. With the ventilation cleared at the top, things should be warm in there tonight.

It is a long way from the driveway to the coop!
20171230_152204.jpg

Ooops, the bales bailed!
20171230_155614.jpg

Early sunsets
20171230_152359.jpg

Woodchips then straw for our deep litter method
20171230_152728.jpg

Closing off the other half
20171230_153658.jpg

Bedtime treats...for warmth
Screenshot_20171230-162931.png

Mr. Hendrix, now dry and warm reunited with his ladies. Good night little chickies, keep warm
Screenshot_20171230-163253.jpg

Thank you for reading! Take care of you and yours❤

Sort:  

So there's no need to check on the queen as long as there is buzzing? I suppose opening up the hive to do so would just let all the warmth out and be worse for the bees, wouldn't it?

And oh no, the poor chickens! That's not a fun time at all. Hopefully they stay warmer now with the modifications you made. :-)

And yeah deer feed! That's totally something I would do.

Lol I was thinking the same thing about opening the hive ..

I just watched another video...I guess no matter what there's not much you can do if something is wrong anyways, so I'm not going to chance it *even though I want to lol! They have extra sugar inside and I think as long as I keep the snow cleared they have a good chance? Its kind of stressful lol!

I thought bees hibernated throughout the winter... my neighbor had bees growing up but he was old and I already knew everything so of course I didn't listen... I hope they'll be okay.. fingers crossed..

I think they do, but some stay alert for safety. I know that they should be huddled together inside the hive...and hahaha didn't we know it all?? ;)

I was reading on line that you could open it for 30 seconds to check in the winter, but it is so cold that I was afraid to. It is our first winter with bees!
I know! I felt so bad that happend:( They were so cold, I really hope they are warm now. Yessss the deer feed! I saw it and had to get it lol. Food is scarce and they are looking near the roads now!!

The zoo I used to work at has a bee colony. They've not had much luck getting them to live through the winter, pretty sure it's the exhibit set up. I hope yours pull through! I definitely want some of my own some day.

I never realized they would have bees! I hope they overwinter alright too. I also hope you get bees someday!<3

You should make beer, put the keg out for always c old brew

Haha! Canadian cold brew! It would be Ice beer :):):)

have a great day!
very well written :)

I live in ohio and the winters suck. I don't know how you guys do it. Props

I am feeling the same sucky winter vibe so far this year, for sure!! I am much better at hibernating lol!

I have dreams of palm trees and beaches all winter long. Great post, and again, I don't know how you do it.

I've never kept bees, but I wouldn't have thought they would be doing better than the chickens. I enjoyed your post.

I agree, I assumed the chickens would do better! Learning as we go :) Thank you for reading it!

What great pics! Hope everything gets through the winter!
Upvoted and following! Happy New Year, and may the Sun shine on all you do!

Thank you so much! Only 3 more months to go haha!!
Happy New Year to you as well <3 Have a fabulous 2018!!

Close call! Glad you go there in time to fix them up! Wow! -35!? Makes our -1 feel not so bad afterall! Love, your blog, Following!

Me too! I still feel so bad:(

-1 is a winter temp I could totally handle haha! It is nice to meet you, I am also following you! I love your first posts <3

Oh! Thank you so much!

Newbie member here from WV. How do you keep your chickens’ water from freezing? After seeing the cost of the “official” water heaters we went the DIY route, which worked really well until last night when temps went below 15 degrees.

Hi @mtnmeadowmomma and welcome!
Wow, they are expensive! I was checking them out yesterday. We usually don't get this cold this long so I've just been bringing them water 3 times a day, or breaking the ice after a couple of hours. A bit of acv in the water seems to slow the freezing process. So far this is our gameplan...hoping for warmer temps soon!

Congratulations @karenfoster, this post is the seventh most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2207 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $4664.27. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87