You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making Kefir for Health

in #homesteading6 years ago

This is very informative. I make mozzarella cheese when I have fresh goat milk. We raise goats. I thought that was the easiest cheese to make but this looks even easier. I am going to try this as soon as I get my hands on some grains. I usually make kefir without grains. I finally have found a source of grains. I am quite excited to try this recipe of kefir cheese.

Thank you for sharing.

Sort:  

To the best of my knowledge, one can not make kefir without the grain, as it provides the 40+ strains of probiotics that make it kefir. One can make farmers cheese, which is similar, but without the probiotics. I am glad you found grains and hope you enjoy the cheese. By far the easiest to make of any I've tried.

I make kefir from kefir which I had gotten from a friend. Here they sell a kefir powder to make kefir with. It is probably less superior than kefir made with grains. It makes more like kefir milk.

Yes, this is true. I've heard they don't survive very long. The best bet is to contact a WAPF chapter leader in your area and see if you can get a healthy grain that way. That's what I did all those years ago.

Wonderful. Thanks for the information. I will get my hands on some grains.

Thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63648.37
ETH 3125.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87