Getting things into the ground!

IMG_20180512_2034442.jpg

We spent most of yesterday outside in the garden. It was such a gorgeous day and we got a lot done. The picture is from the end of the day, where all the potatoes are in the ground and Brock is giving them a good soak. We had 3 kinds of potatoes from last year, though we forgot to check what they were so this year we named them - Last years Red, Small round Ones and SFW - thats a safeway not safe for work =P , some of them started sprouting so we figured we plant them too since they have a decent flavour. They are the ones in the box with crazy long stalks.

IMG_20180512_1538347_.jpg

In the bowl we have Russet Norkotah - Brock bought them and I went through the bag and cut them in to pieces making sure each piece had atleast 3 "eyes". We also had 2 yellow onions that we got for dog sitting that had green sticking out of them, I peeled the outer layers of and we had 4 starter onions to put in the ground along with 2 (out of the 4 ) bags of yellow and red onions seeds.

IMG_20180512_1609112.jpg

We planted the potatoes in the middle of the bed, with broad beans in between and put the onion bulbs on the south side of the beds so that they will get the most sunlight. On the north side of the beds we will alternate marigold, kale and basil. The bigger the potato stalks get the more shade they will give the kale. We will also sow radishes and spinach close to the potato stalks, that way we should get a harvest before the stalks grows to tall and shade the area out.

IMG_20180512_1617192.jpg

Look at this one,I think it looks like a little coral reef tho Brock think it looks like it should be the control piece of a alien ship about to invade earth.

IMG_20180512_.jpg

The leaves are growing in the food forest part of the garden. Both of us really like hanging out here, it has quickly become our favourite spot. This is a panorama shot of it :)

IMG_20180512_1820174.jpg

I transplanted our alpine strawberries to the beginning of the rows. Two for each, and we had enough for 9 beds, not enough for all beds but we will find something else to put on the others. I wrote the names of the potatoes on the inside of pieces of bark I had from last years.

1526190000-2.jpg

Rascal wanted to sit in my lap while I was busy planting potatoes, when I didnt pick him up he found his own solution. As you can see we have not finished all the rows in the garden. But we are working away at it a little bit at a time. We will add straw as mulch on top of the rows, as soon as we figure out a way for it to not blow away.

IMG_20180512_2026174.jpg

Sort:  

I have entered you in the @payitforward contest as one of my three choices for bloggers who deserve attention.
My post - https://steemit.com/gardening/@donna-metcalfe/pay-it-forward-curation-contest-week-7
The link to the contest is in the post.

@donna-metcalfe's entry is how I found your post.

Thank you, such a great initiative and I appriciate being picked as one of your three choices! :)

I loved your post and think many others will too!
The contest rules only allow us to choose bloggers with reputation points under 50 and I wanted to get you in while I still could. ;-)
Oh, and you can enter too by choosing 3 of your own favorites. It's pretty fun to see the choices and they offer nice prizes to boot!

Thats so awesome to hear, I appriciate it :D
Oh wow, yeah just in the nick of time then hehe
I will certainly look in to it, thank you :)

I came across your post by way of #payitforward contest.
Growing a crop is a lot of work but is well worth it. Good Luck and God bless.

It doesnt feel like work, Im loving every second :D Thanks!

@donna-metcalfe featured you in the PayItForward Curation contest . That is what brought me to your post

Thats so great, hope you enjoyed the read!

yes I did . I found the way you planted in your beds interesting

I like how you described where companion plantings were going to be done, Do you use the Marigolds for bug control? I forget what bugs they take care of, but I have heard that they are a good pest control plant.

I found your post courtesy of @donna-metcalfe entry into the "Pay it Forward" contest. Nice looking dirt.

Sorry for taking forever to get back to you, I been out of commision for a while (chronic pain).
Yes, we picked Marigolds as pest control. Research indicates that their roots produce toxic chemicals that kill root knot nematodes - tiny worms that lives in the soil and are bad for strawberries, potatoes and tomatoes. But Marigolds also attracts spiders and other good bugs. Plus the Calendula officinalis called "pot marigold" also have health benefits - they are used for their many anti-inflammtory, antispasmodic and antifungal compounds. You can read more about it here : https://draxe.com/marigolds/

I love to see people growing their own food...and so does Rascal apparently :)

I found your post because @donna-metcalfe included it in her entry for the Pay it Forward Curation Contest. You should think about joining us next week :)

Sorry for the slow response, I been out of commision for a while.

So do I, its such a inspiration to read and see pictures from other ppls gardens :D
Yes, I will look into it, I gotten a lot of positive feedback from being selected by @donna-metcalfe :D

I'm sorry that you have "been out of commission" and hope all is well!

I'm so glad that you have gotten so much positive feedback and I've enjoyed seeing the attention that the showcased authors have received with this contest :)

Yeah its such a great initative!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70