You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A "VIKING FUNERAL" ON THE HOMESTEAD - WHAT IT IS AND WHY WE DO IT

Very logical and respectful, @papa-pepper.

I love the practicality of all of this. You can't eat it, you can't really dispose of it without creating other unwanted issues, so the best way is to eliminate it entirely.

I did learn that cedar burns hotter than other wood. I did not know that, since cedar is a wood that is generally sought after for its appearance and aroma.

I know what parts of the house I probably should avoid if it were to ever catch on fire. Bedroom closets. Good to know. :)

Sort:  

Thanks man. Glad that you appreciated it.

So, now you've got me thinking about just what did kill the ram, and whether or not it may have infected other animals. And if not, why not? And what kind of preventive things can you do?

And when you say quarantine, there must be a fenced off area, corral, paddock, where you can isolate the animal? Is that a fair distance away from the rest of the animals, not to mention the house?

And just how likely is something that killed the ram to be harmful to humans? I mean, I agree it's safer not to eat it when you don't know what it is. I'm wondering along the lines of a milder strain of it being in the other animals which may be stronger or something where they don't die or show the same symptoms.

Seems like all kinds of possibilities here, but somehow you're able to keep them in check or mitigate the risk beyond the Viking Funeral.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61974.94
ETH 3126.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77