Putting Up a Clothesline

EF1EEFC0-3206-4127-82B2-9755588DF539.jpeg
I’m quite pleased with how this turned out!

I have wanted a clothesline outside for at least a year now, and we were able to build our own with things we already had! Luckily, the Big Man has some handyman skills along with his farming skills. One of them being welding.

375A5F65-E0D0-433B-BEFD-5A6EF9654FA4.jpeg
One of the many remodeling projects we did in this house included upgrading the closets. (We still have to do our first born’s closet.) As you can see from the picture, the closets were custom made using heavy-duty galvanized steel rods. We did leave the entry closet alone because I figured with heavy winter jackets and whatnot hanging up, that rod would be necessary. Anyways, we kept them after we took them out, figuring they may be useful one day. And that day finally came!

761385D4-9803-456E-81A2-227D761F5894.jpeg
The Big Man welded those suckers together in a “T” shape, drilled 5 holes across the top, and painted the rods with whatever paint he had on hand. He’s a John Deere man, so yellow it was! Which I was fine with because it’s a somewhat earthy color? Plus it’ll hide rust better. (Does galvanized steel rust?)

671B4EF6-44A3-451C-A786-97AE9F02EFD4.jpeg
Stick them in a foot deep hole with concrete to secure in place.

Now to just install the actual clothesline. I didn’t realize clothesline came in a variety of materials. Buying the plastic covered wire clothesline was a no-brainer for us. Quick side rant: I noticed a lot of things I’ve been buying lately have that CA warning sticker on them. The one that says this contains chemicals known to cause cancer blah blah blah. I get it. Everything is going to give us cancer. Do you really have to put a sticker on everything??

So I added “install clothesline” to the Big Man’s honey-do list, thinking it was going to require some special thingamabobs and special installation only a handyman knows how to do. Well, I was informed yesterday that even though the planting is done, that the honey-do list will still have to wait till other work is taken care of. I tell you it’s tough being a farmer’s wife! Half sarcastic.

I thought I might as well try tackle some of these smaller jobs myself. I turned to google to see if hanging a clothesline might be easier than I thought. Well I’ll be, it sure is! Off to Hardware Hank I went.

557A023D-422D-4B60-A6AA-18492D1475A4.jpeg
I picked up some 1/8” wire rope clips and headed home.

764DBB8D-0202-4C78-A394-9345E1B9034C.jpeg
Super easy to install. Word to the wise though, don’t drop those small nuts. You may be lucky enough to find the first one, but if you don’t learn your lesson and drop another, you won’t be so lucky that time. True story.

F8069EEB-D874-43B4-8D9D-5527753D23DC.jpeg
Now to test it out! Good thing I did laundry earlier today. I quickly learned not to hang a shirt by the shoulders. I’m not sure if this is the right way to hang clothes either. How do you hang your clothes? Also learned the reason for that little hole in the clothespin!

I’d hang the rest of my laundry if it wasn’t so darn windy out today. Now I’ll have to pay attention to the weather before I do my laundry. I was nervous about the dog thinking the hanging clothes were a new toy for him to play with but I see my shirt is still hanging...so far!


Steem on! Upvote, comment, and follow :)
Sort:  

Excellent job...now you can get that sweet fresh air smell on the clothes!

Yes! As long as the winds aren’t 30-some miles an hour lol.

hey, Just found you page and I followed you. Have a wonderful shabbat!

Following you back! Shabbat shalom!!

Hey I think you did a dang good job!

Thank you! It just took some open mindedness and not limiting myself.

Nice job and I like the color! I've seen people here in Panama hang the shirts on a hangar and then hang them on the line. Makes it easy to move them into the closet when they're dry. People here also use anything they have - including the chain link fences and laying them on the bushes! :)

Girl power! I hung my own clothesline, too!! Haha! It's funny how the husbands don't realize just important such a thing can be. I didn't have any of those fancy rope fasteners. I just kept tying it. Haha! I wish I had had them though!
I lay our shirts over the line halfway down the shirt and then pin them. That way the line is kind of in the armpit area and usually comes out once I hang the clothes in the closet (who am I kidding? It comes out when I shake it after getting it out of the laundry basket that I've been digging through for days!)

Hahaha! Hey, whatever works, works right! I was thinking about that, hanging the clothes over the line and then pinning it. I think I’ll be going that route next time.
A couple days ago, I (I mean my mom) had the house all nice and clean, and then yesterday I was looking and noticed some stuff laying around (and not picking it up) I thought to myself, so this is how my house gets so messy!

Good job!
I hope 1ft deep is enough. Big heavy wet blankets and stuff really tug on the posts.

I try to hang and heavy things (towels, jeans, etc) nearest the posts. As if you hang them near the center, they will really sag the line.

Make sure your lines are really taut. They will stretch some.

For shirts, i hang them similarly to how you have there. I put past of the hem ON the rope, then clip the rope & shirt together. (verses you having the clip over the rope, grabbing the shirt below).

And I double up,clips. The left side lf the shirt will overlap the right side of the next shirt, by maybe 1/2 inch? Sharing a clothes pin.

Windy days are good, unless they are like super power wind.

My husband was saying he’ll see how the 1 foot goes, and if he needs to, he’ll dig them up and make it deeper. He also tightened everything up for me once I showed him the line when he got home. He also said I need to get more wire clips so there are two on each side. Well here I thought I did a good job lol!
Thank you for the advice!!

Aah.. google university! (Soon we'll call it steemit university).

Great job to you and The Big Man. My wife wants a clothesline when we move to our new spot, in three weeks time. I always thought we could do it in between trees but I likr the idea of welding up something relycled... plus trees will create shade. I think I'll follow suit eventually.

Thanks for sharing

What did we do before the internet?! Waited for the husbands I’m guessing? Lol
Thank you! Maybe if there were a couple of dead trees that you could cut down into posts, that would work. Live trees would shed all their goodies onto the clothes, too. Not so fun.

Haha yes true... the wait could be long sometimes!

The trees would shed their stuff, that's right. I wasn't thinking about that it's agood point, I was worried about the birds sheding other things!

Congratulations @hebrewhousewife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Nice! Thanks You

Congratulations @hebrewhousewife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94