Garden Update: Hungarian Pink Tomatoes

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

This is the first year growing Hungarian Pink Tomatoes

We are trying a new type of tomato this year, the Hungarian Pink. For my birthday last year, I was gifted some Hungarian pink tomatoes, although I received the plants in the spring. These are known to be very sweet and juicy tomatoes, although we didn't get them to produce a lot. This looks like all we're getting this year.

Kalman's Hungarian Pink is part of the Solanum genus and is a Tomato variety. Its scientific name is Solanum lycopersicum 'Kalman's Hungarian Pink'. 'Kalman's Hungarian Pink' is considered a heirloom OP (open polliated) cultivar. When ripe, fruit appear in these approximate colours: Coral pink. Source

Our Tomatoes are over 7' tall this year!

We've had an explosive tomato crop this year, with the plants climbing up to over seven feet.

They were beginning to creep over to the other side, so we offered the plants some help getting over there.

Lots of Grape Tomatoes

We didn't get a lot of full size tomatoes, considering how large the plants grew, but we got lots of grape tomatoes. They are one of the tomato types that I actually like. They are sweet and juicy.

A Surprise in our Garden... Yellow Tomatoes!

We didn't realize it at the time, but we were growing a yellow tomato plant among our tomatoes. Maybe we weren't paying attention when we planted the seeds, but here it is. We thought at first it just wasn't ripe, but looking closer, we realized that yellow tomato was ripe and ready to eat.

How is your garden doing? Has it been a good year? Let me know in the comments below!

@ironshield


Benjamin Turner: God fearer. Rooted in Messiah. Husband of @lturner. Father of four wonderful children. The guy behind the camera. Steemit enthusiast.

Bless the Most High!

Have you been introduced to Menē yet?

Menē (Meen-nay) is a 24K gold and platinum investment jewelry company, where investors can trade their crypto-currencies for certified gold and platinum items. Preserve your wealth in precious metals and begin your Menē collection today.

Receive a $5.00 Gift Certificate using the link below:
https://mene.com/invite/YHDw

ALL PHOTOS ORIGINAL TO THE AUTHOR UNLESS OTHERWISE SPECIFIED.

Sort:  

We love the grape and cherry tomatoes. The kids have just grazed the garden for them. They prefer them over any other veg. which is a problem when you are trying to get to eat a variety. Nica kids, in general, are not big on veg.

Our children like the grape tomatoes, they pick around the other tomato varieties. @ironshield

howdy sir ironshield! wow man, ya'll have green thumbs up there or what?? good grief I didn't know tomato plants grew that tall! haha. what a lush bunch of plants, a real blessing but tomato seeds for your birthday?
wonderful photos bytheway

I should give the green-thumb award to my wife @lturner, she did most of the gardening. We used manure this year, which made a huge difference. The photos did turn out pretty good from my phone, which doesn't normally take the best pictures. @ironshield

ok, your wife is a great gardener! fertilizer is sometimes the key. I can just taste the BLT's now!

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

For my birthday last year, I was gifted some Hungarian pink tomatoes, although I recieved the plants in the spring.
It should be received instead of recieved.

I've corrected the post. Thanks.

Brother's great post, good luck always

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

My garden is doing well this year. In fact the volunteer tomatoes are out growing the ones I planted. But that's ok with me, the more tomatoes the better! One new one this year is called German Pink, I forgot to snap a picture of it before I ate it....I'll try to remember when I harvest the next one!

Also this year I am growing some small squash and zucchini as well as dragon egg cucumbers and all of them have been doing well so far!

Wow! Those are some amazing tomato plants!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95