You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is the Conventional Farmer Our Enemy?

I'm willing to bet there are more folks out there like your husband than you'd think. Attempting to put this diplomatically, I think certain lifestyles and/or beliefs tend to involve or require more passion than others--the (sometimes true) stereotypes about vegans and crossfitters come to mind--and people are going to talk more, and with more conviction, about the things they are passionate and excited about vs. the things that are just a commonplace everyday part of life. Your husband isn't going around preaching the wonders of GMO's and mine isn't going around preaching the wonders of Roundup because in their minds those things aren't that interesting, they're just tools to accomplish what they need to do. There's no extra personal investment.

Does the "100% organic non-GMO fully sustainable" lifestyle attract people who are more passionate, strongly-opinionated types to begin with? Or does the lifestyle convert them, and then they're eager to share this wonderful life they've found, much as religion affects other folks? Who knows? The world is far more interesting because of it, and we can learn a lot from them. I certainly have been.

I'm very much in your position and I too have had to learn to balance my more hippie leanings with the Husband's conventionality. I'll try out vegetarian recipes, but our family isn't ditching meat ever; I'll slowly work more natural products and organic foods into our household, but I still buy peanut butter Ritz Bits and Fig Newtons for the pantry, and condition Pixie's hair with Pantene😉

I figure that I don't harshly judge people who don't share my particular religious beliefs, so why would they harshly judge me for not sharing their exact lifestyle beliefs? And if they do (shrug) well, that's just too bad.

Sort:  

Well put! I know I was all excited at first and thought to myself, “Why wouldn’t everyone want to live this way?” I probably fall into the already strongly opinionated type 😋
Now, though, I’ve cooled down a bit and realized I’m ok with not being totally au natural and self-sufficient.
I’ll admit that I’ve hestitated on posting certain posts with preconception most wouldn’t find it interesting or even snub their nose at it. But you know, this is us and this is how we live, so if they don’t like it, we’ll then.. they don’t have to read it I suppose.

Exactly! I had to cool down out of necessity, once I realized that conversion to self sufficiency was NOT going to happen overnight. We may never fully get there, either, but at least I can adjust my attitude to accept that as I work in changes bit by bit :)

I say just post whatever you like since it's your life and your story to tell. Like you said, people who don't like it, don't have to read it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63857.77
ETH 3117.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87