Is the Conventional Farmer Our Enemy?

D4C8CAC7-2DA3-42A2-998E-EF8613F25874.jpeg

I’ve been wanting to write this post for a time now. However, every time I try to write it, let’s just say it lacked the loving tone. But I think I’ve now finally reached a point where I can write this, if at the very least, to show my husband that I’m on his side. 


For anyone that doesn’t know, my husband (the Big Man) is what most would call today’s conventional farmer. He grows wheat, soybeans, sunflowers, and sugar beets. Yup, GMO, Round-Up Ready sugar beets. Together with his dad and grandpa, he farms 2,500-some acres (I forget the actual number).


Since most of my friends here on steemit are in the homesteading community, I’m guessing you have already done a big gasp from reading this. And I get it. When I first starting watching homesteading videos and getting really into it, I looked at what my husband was doing with disgust. This was bad, bad, bad on my part.


I noticed in the homesteading community that anything unnatural or anything involving chemicals is a big no-no. “Stay away from all that, that is the enemy,” seems to be the montra of the homestead world. And I picked up on this. We’ll just say my husband was very aware of this.


What I learned the hard way, was that there is a very fine line between relaying information and coming off as pushing my convictions onto another. You will not be able to change the “guilty party’s” mind by seeping bitterness in the form of finger-pointing and complaining. Now oftentimes, when I see others talk/complain about “the bad guy”, all I see is bitterness. However, I wonder how many have actually gotten to know “the bad guy?” 


Yes, there are greedy farmers out there that are only in to make as much money as they can and don’t care what they are doing. But not all. Most farmers don’t see themselves as a bad guy. They don’t see themselves as poisoners. My husband sees himself as someone who provides food and is making a living to provide for his family. He takes care of his land the best he knows how because if he didn’t, it would cost him money. And most of all, he enjoys what he does.

My biblical takeaway 

I think the biggest lesson I learned from all of this is that our Father is bigger than all of this, and it has a purpose. He takes care of His children, and He is bigger than GMO’s and chemicals and all the bad stuff. Truly, I don’t think it’s possible to get away from it all anyways. We live in a fallen, imperfect world, and everything is tainted, so to speak. 


Now, if you are convicted to eat a certain way and live a certain way, then by all means, follow those convictions! But we also need to be understanding that other’s convictions are not the same as ours. And we also don’t know how the Father is working in their hearts or neccessarily what greater purposes these things serve. Nothing in this world happens without the Father allowing it to happen.


So the right response in my opinion? To be thankful to the Father that He has revealed to me what He has revealed to me. Thankful He has pricked my heart in such a way that brings me closer to Him, and to let go of any harboring bitterness. 


So I don’t think the conventional farmer is the enemy, not even Monsanto, or the Grovernment meddling etc. No, we only have one enemy here in this life. Ephesians 6:12 comes to mind. 

Thank you for reading.


Steem on! Upvote, comment, and follow :)

Sort:  

I'm willing to bet there are more folks out there like your husband than you'd think. Attempting to put this diplomatically, I think certain lifestyles and/or beliefs tend to involve or require more passion than others--the (sometimes true) stereotypes about vegans and crossfitters come to mind--and people are going to talk more, and with more conviction, about the things they are passionate and excited about vs. the things that are just a commonplace everyday part of life. Your husband isn't going around preaching the wonders of GMO's and mine isn't going around preaching the wonders of Roundup because in their minds those things aren't that interesting, they're just tools to accomplish what they need to do. There's no extra personal investment.

Does the "100% organic non-GMO fully sustainable" lifestyle attract people who are more passionate, strongly-opinionated types to begin with? Or does the lifestyle convert them, and then they're eager to share this wonderful life they've found, much as religion affects other folks? Who knows? The world is far more interesting because of it, and we can learn a lot from them. I certainly have been.

I'm very much in your position and I too have had to learn to balance my more hippie leanings with the Husband's conventionality. I'll try out vegetarian recipes, but our family isn't ditching meat ever; I'll slowly work more natural products and organic foods into our household, but I still buy peanut butter Ritz Bits and Fig Newtons for the pantry, and condition Pixie's hair with Pantene😉

I figure that I don't harshly judge people who don't share my particular religious beliefs, so why would they harshly judge me for not sharing their exact lifestyle beliefs? And if they do (shrug) well, that's just too bad.

Well put! I know I was all excited at first and thought to myself, “Why wouldn’t everyone want to live this way?” I probably fall into the already strongly opinionated type 😋
Now, though, I’ve cooled down a bit and realized I’m ok with not being totally au natural and self-sufficient.
I’ll admit that I’ve hestitated on posting certain posts with preconception most wouldn’t find it interesting or even snub their nose at it. But you know, this is us and this is how we live, so if they don’t like it, we’ll then.. they don’t have to read it I suppose.

Exactly! I had to cool down out of necessity, once I realized that conversion to self sufficiency was NOT going to happen overnight. We may never fully get there, either, but at least I can adjust my attitude to accept that as I work in changes bit by bit :)

I say just post whatever you like since it's your life and your story to tell. Like you said, people who don't like it, don't have to read it!

Farmers are the backbone of this country and typically some of the hardest working individuals. When I worked in manufacturing it was amazing most of the hardest working individuals had been raised in agricultural . If it came down to 2 candidates interviewing for a position I would always pick the one with an ag background.

People in this country are fine with spending large amounts of income on their home (range 35-50%) but only want to spend 5-10% on food which is not typical in other countries. Once we figure out diet is the backbone of our health not drug companies we will start supporting effort the change farming practices.

Thanks for writing this post!

I’m thankful for all the positive responses! A funny story, my husband helped his uncle (an electrician) out a few times, and his uncle had to take a break from being pooped out and my husband tried telling him to just keep going and get done. Lol maybe it was the difference is ages too.
It amazes me how some complain about the price of certain things, but they are the same people that will spend a lot of money on unnecessary items. Well, we all pay for our choices at one point or another.

I'd have to say consumers are the big enemy here. Farmers just plant the crop that's going to make them the most profit that year but it's really consumers that choose to buy GMO food without any knowledge on their health risks, that's the real problem. If consumers stopped buying GMO food then farmers would just follow the demand of the consumers and plant Non-GMO crops.

The good news is that more and more Non-GMO products are coming to market and consumers are slowly learning that organic foods are a healthier choice. Heck, I even hear organic beer is becoming quite popular now days.

I agree, it’s amazing how much power the consumer really has! I have a few reasons I want my husband to get out of sugar beets, but one of them has to do with the movement of the consumer market towards non GMO’s. Hersey was a big buyer for American Crystal, and now they have dropped them for a non GMO sugar source. I’d rather him get out now, before the company tanks. He promised me if beet stocks reached a certain price, he’d sell all his beet stocks. We’ll see!

I have a couple of good friends, that are opposites. One does Eden gardening, is a vegan, and is a licensed wildlife rehabilitation center. The other farms a number of square miles of bottom land in commercial crops, raises cattle, and eats them. He is planting a couple of acres in old seed wheat for me.

I respect them both, anf would do anything for either one! Just because they are different, does Not mean one is Better, or Smarter! The first is an author, and the second is a licensed microbiologist; so neither one is even of average intelligence.

WE need to examine Ourselves, and accept people for what they are, and for where they are coming from! We can learn a lot from good people, no matter what side of the fence they are on!

I agree! I’m glad to hear there’s people who support farmers. Maybe it’s just in my head, but it seems like farmers are being attacked from all angles, especially the government.
I’m curious if your two friends are friends with each other too, or do they not even know each other?

They have never met, but that would be a good thing to do! I have no doubt that they would like one another. I will try to introduce them. Maybe when I go to pickup the Triticale wheat, I can take the eden gardener along.

The farmers wife makes the best muscadine grape jelly I have ever tasted, from grapes she picks along the banks of the Cimmaron River, wearing hip waders! She always gives me some jars, which I treasure all year, LOL! :)

We do need to follow out convictions but at the same time being respectful to others on theirs. Can we get along...sure there is no reason that cannot happen! Respect is the key!

I come from a long line of farmers and having a homestead I can appreciate that hard work of the any farmer because it is hard work. An axiom I quote often is. "The further a person is from the food chain the more liberal he becomes".

I didn’t know you came from a farming family. But yes, from spring to fall, I don’t see him much because it’s long hours. His cousin works with him now, so I’m hoping that I’ll see him a little bit more now. And that quote is so true!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97