You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Apples!

in #homesteading6 years ago

I am so jealous! I think apples keep a long time in a cool shed, placed on earth, or something like that... don't quote me. I would put them in my green smoothies every day. And I'd bake an apple pie. And make an apple and blackberry crumble (I still have some blackberries picked last month in the freezer).
A few years ago I stupidly bought a Braeburn sapling. Why would a type of apple from New Zealand flourish in Scotland? It has produced one small apple. I seriously considered buying some land to plant an orchard a while back, but my financial adviser (I have to have one for my SIPP pension plan) talked me out of it.
I know a guy called John Hancox who is an expert on Scottish apples - you could look at his Facebook page. It's called Scottish Fruit Trees. He makes his apples into cider. There's another apple expert: look up Plants with a Purpose and Appletree Man on Facebook. ("Plants with a Purpose" is the wife of Appletree Man).

Sort:  

Thanks for the info on the Apple experts, would love to know what type they are. You welcome to take all of them if you want to drive down and collect! There's still many attached to the tree and we will need to harvest them this weekend.

That's not to mention the other tree (they work in pairs).

That's another thing about apples, and why my little Braeburn is unlikely to fruit. There must have been another Braeburn in the vicinity when that one lonely apple appeared.
I would love to take you up on your offer! But not this weekend. Make cider!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.54
ETH 3092.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87