Apples!

in #homesteading6 years ago

It’s that time of year again. Harvest the apples or they will harvest themselves, fall on the ground, get bruised and have wasps swarming all over them.

Since was had an amazing July in the UK this year, it really shows with what’s on the tree (in our garden). It’s positively teeming with them.

IMG_4168.JPG

Every year poses us a question. What are we going to do with all this fruit?

In previous years we have given most of them away to a friend who makes cider. He did promise use some of the alcoholic beverage but so far it’s not appeared.

IMG_4169.JPG

There are some friendly horses in the canal bank in the adjoining field who do appreciate these apples. You have to be careful they don’t also eat your hand at the same time though.

I don’t think they are too fussy about the direction those chomping gnashers take!

IMG_4171.JPG

Are there any apple experts reading my apple tale; please tell me what brand, type of apples these are? They are very good for eating and provide that satisfying crunch when bitten in to. They are mostly red with some green and can get quite large.

The tree was quite swollen now with the branches almost reaching to floor due to the weight of the fruit. As I’m writing this article, all of the ones on the low branches have now been harvested resulting in a tree we can now walk under.

IMG_4170.JPG

Those branches on the roof are going to have to be pruned back as when winter sets in and the winds start, they will bang incessantly possibly causing damage to the property.

I only cut them back last year and they have gone mad with growth this summer.

IMG_4202.JPG

These two full baskets are just a portion of what’s been taken off the tree. What should we do with all these?

IMG_4203.JPG

They are just sitting around going bad in our conservatory right now. It does seem a shame to waste them.

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Make some pies! Is there a local market you can sell them at? We had an apple tree in the back yard at the house I used to live in. The deer would come up and eat the ones that had fallen and some of them off the tree. We used to give them to my friend to use for hunting.

I gave some to my mother who will bless us with many apple pies next time we visit, but there's only so many one can eat.

There's no such thing as too much apple pie! That's just un-American. :) That's cool though that she is going to make some for you. Any chance the farmer next door with the horses wants to buy them from you? What about a shelter for homeless people or something?

I am so jealous! I think apples keep a long time in a cool shed, placed on earth, or something like that... don't quote me. I would put them in my green smoothies every day. And I'd bake an apple pie. And make an apple and blackberry crumble (I still have some blackberries picked last month in the freezer).
A few years ago I stupidly bought a Braeburn sapling. Why would a type of apple from New Zealand flourish in Scotland? It has produced one small apple. I seriously considered buying some land to plant an orchard a while back, but my financial adviser (I have to have one for my SIPP pension plan) talked me out of it.
I know a guy called John Hancox who is an expert on Scottish apples - you could look at his Facebook page. It's called Scottish Fruit Trees. He makes his apples into cider. There's another apple expert: look up Plants with a Purpose and Appletree Man on Facebook. ("Plants with a Purpose" is the wife of Appletree Man).

Thanks for the info on the Apple experts, would love to know what type they are. You welcome to take all of them if you want to drive down and collect! There's still many attached to the tree and we will need to harvest them this weekend.

That's not to mention the other tree (they work in pairs).

That's another thing about apples, and why my little Braeburn is unlikely to fruit. There must have been another Braeburn in the vicinity when that one lonely apple appeared.
I would love to take you up on your offer! But not this weekend. Make cider!

Just put Pink Floyd's Apple & Oranges on endless repeat, and start eating until you can eat no more. A transcending experience! Except for liking apples, I have no further intelligence about them; oh! an older post of mine: Apples, Red & Green

Oh my goodness! Look at all those apples! Our neighbour has the same issue, too many apples. So each year, he sets out a basket on the front with a note saying 'please help yourself to a few apples if you so wish!' You could do that, or you could make some apple crumbles, or you could donate them to your local food banks... so many options! Or you could send a dozen to me and I will eat them all! haha

I only you were closer you could take all of them. We really don't know what to do with them. People at work are bringing in theirs, talk about over supply.

Those apples look delicious! What do you think is your favorite way to eat them??


Global Homestead Collective Come join us on discord! https://discord.gg/KCYH4JX7

Some are heading for pies, and we might try some smoothies. Sadly many just get thrown out every year, we have too many and don't know what to do with them.

That is a lot of apples :) Usually they last long. You may try to eat it, and give some to your friends :)

That's a lot of apples though, lol. I remember we once had too many cherries from our tree.(Yes that is possible) So we made some small paper bags and went around giving them to people in the town. (for free of course).

I know what I would use them for!

Wish I knew how!

Little illiterate ladies in Albania can do it, so can you!

Hi @slobberchops!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.845 which ranks you at #4217 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 331 places in the last three days (old rank 4548).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 304 contributions, your post is ranked at #55.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99