You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Overcoming the Drawbacks of Small Scale Urban Homesteading: Keeping Livestock

in #homesteading7 years ago

This is a good idea...

Another way we sometimes use the chickens as helpers is by putting them under a light weight cage top on areas we want weeding. It's a bit like using a chicken tractor, except on a much smaller, lighter scale and it's not permanent.

I am going to try that with one of the old rabbit cages on top of the raised beds over winter.

Thank you

Sort:  

👍 An old rabbit cage top was my first lightweight tractor! The other ones are mesh panels strapped together. Hope it works well for you.

Yes, I do this too. As you wrote, chicken tractor's don't really work in small spaces so my hens are confined to static runs but I bring them out when I'm turning over a bed or need some weedy bits pecked through and do as you say - works a treat.

I also do it at home thanks to integrated farming program. please see my blog

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63885.30
ETH 3142.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86