Infused Vodkas- Another use for your extra fruits!

in #homesteading6 years ago

OK, before I even start I just want to say, there will be no judging me 😊 Just because this is my 3rd recipe and two of them have had Vodka as the main ingredient doesn’t necessarily mean that I am known on a first name basis at the ABC Store. And did you know they are open on Sundays? 😊 😊 😊 All seriousness, I never really sipped bourbon or whiskey, but now I like some mixed drinks, made with Vodka. Notice I didn’t lie and say I like a mixed drink, because I normally like 3, real well. After our banner year with blackberries, I was putting them in everything and so I was excited when I found out how easy Infusions are. We thought a cup and a half of sugar in each of these was perfect, but you can certainly omit the sugar. To us the sugar makes it a sipper! We have become quite fond of Infused Vodkas here at Q'berry Farms, Blackberry in particular. Great little Sipper or after dinner dessert Sip. The World is yours on combos for Infusions. Please Let me know your ideas or if you are already making your own.

Ingredients List for Blackberry Infused Vodka
• Quart-sized canning jar
• Cheese cloth
• 3 cups of fresh blackberries
• 1.5 cups of sugar
• Enough vodka to fill up the jar

Process
Rinse your berries good and remove any that are too soft or have spots, etc. I use a funnel to transfer the berries to a quart jar. Next, Pour the sugar in and then fill the jar with Vodka. Stir the berries and sugar to let the vodka settle in. You may need to add a little more vodka but I leave enough head room so you can get a good shake. Put the lid on and you are all set. Blackberry shown on right, below.

I shake mine once a day for a month. Then I shake once or twice a week for 3 months. This can be sat on your counter if you want. I left mine on our open shelves and there is a lot of light but not direct light. At the end of 3 months strain the liquid thru a cheesecloth. I take the fruit and work all the juice out of it and then strain that thru the cheesecloth. A 3rd straining will help your Vodka be more clear, unless you are over it by now :)

I use jars to store mine in or reuse liquor bottles. We brought this bottle back from Africa, so I love reusing it. You can make so many variations of this and following the same process. Let me know what creations you come up with. Blackberry happens to be our favorite and was sipped very quickly 😊 This is our bottled Blackberry.

Ingredients List for Apple Pie Infused Vodka
• 3 cups of apples (I have used all wild apples once and mixed store bought once )
• 1 or 2 vanilla beans cut in half
• 2 cinnamon sticks
• 1.5 cups of Sugar
• Enough Vodka to fill the jar

Follow same process as Blackberry above. Apple Pie shown below.

Ingredients List for Pineapple Basil Infused Vodka

• 2 cans of pineapple chunks and save the juice for martinis later.
Or 14oz pineapple cores cut into chunks. I save and freeze mine for this.
• 1 vanilla bean cut in half
• 8-10 fresh basil leaves (I freeze basil leaves during the summer in ice cubes)

Follow same process as Blackberry above. Pineapple Basil shown below.

Notes:
In a short time the basil leaves will start looking like algae. That is ok.
I have used scraped, used vanilla beans in the Pineapple infusion before and it was delish.
The Apple Pie and Blackberry are great sipping Vodkas.
The Pineapple was all used in Martinis. I used my saved frozen pineapple juice like a simple syrup and added some water. These were Very refreshing and light. Be careful. I wanted a straw :)

Bottled Pineapple Basil Infused Vodka and Apple Pie Infused Vodka

Happy Infusing!![]

Sort:  

I bet the blackberry is a delicious treat! I think my Polish momma and friend have done something like this with lemons. I'll have to ask how they do theirs.

That sounds good. I saw orange vodka in the ABC store so I bet Lemon is tasty too. Thanks for stopping by!

It's Soo good. I've never bought anything in a store that's as good as that blackberry infused vodka!

Congratulations @qberryfarms, this post is the most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 5179 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2795.77. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Holy Rewards @bitgeek! I am speechless and so grateful that my post was found interesting or useful. Thank you for sending me this information. I am a Happy Girl! THANK YOU!

Yum! Do you use a particular brand of vodka?

I have used Pinnacle for the last two batches. It was on sale and I was buying a big bottle for cocktails too. If you are just using for Vodka, just get the cheapest they have. You won't know the difference at all.

I'm wondering if this would work with tequila? I really like tequila. :)

OH boy, maybe we need to hang out. I love tequila too and I'm not a mean 'drunk' I am a happy one who likes to dance :) This should work with any liquor but Chad and I both think clear would work better. You gotta let me know if you try!

I will let you know!!! Would love to hang! If you ever come to KY, comevsee the farm and drink my strawberry tequila lol. I'll even through in some KY bourbon!

Congratulations! This post has been added to our growing directory of Steemit post for the Homesteading/Survival communities. If you haven't done so already, you can claim your badge along with the code to add to your posts to let the world know you have chosen to help others Survive, Thrive and be Prepared! Click here to get the code

Thank you so much. I hope it provides some inspiration to make some!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 13:23:46
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 15.15/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Incredible recipes, perfect for a Friday night :)

Or any night :) thank you!

It looks good. It almost makes me want to start drinking. But I sure would like to try some

Thank you! I can really tell a difference when I cook with pure vanilla.

Cool, thanks for sharing. I am definitely going to try this. It never really occurred to me that I could infuse my vodka with fruit. I've been making wine for over a year now so I have learned to be patient when it comes to turning fruit into alcohol.

Yes, you are exactly right on the patience. I just started my wine making last summer too. I have my 4th small batch of blackberry in the carboy now. I actually just sweetened it a bit so I am curious to see how it turns out. All I know is it is strong :) Best of luck and thank you for visiting my post.

With Christmas coming I think I am going to make several small batches as gifts. Love the idea, thank you.

You are more than welcome! Starting now is a great idea. I seem to always have some going. Let me know if you try any new combos. Thanks for stopping by and the votes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.02
ETH 3289.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88