You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Seasonal Eating and Local Abundance

in #homesteading5 years ago

Thanks for your honest opinions about your diet! Opinions and ideologies about diet can easily get so dogmatic that people forget all rational thinking and simply try to stuff everything into a readymade box even when it doesn't even fit it. I'm someone who is all for plant based eating yet I don't think 100% veganism is for everybody, and that we should find a way to both respect the animals that we are eating if we choose to do so, but also not neglect the needs of our own bodies. I'm still slightly conflicted though, because I do usually opt for fully plant based if possible, but sometimes simply cannot due to circumstances, and that is when I do end up eating meat, yet I try to do so respectfully and mindfully.
Happy to hear more people talk about their diet in a non-dogmatic yet thoughtful way. :)!

Sort:  

Great response @scintilliac. I have mellowed on diet over the years, and was WAY more idealogically based in the past. I think I've seen the stuffing of ideas into a misfit box many times over... Now it's all about what feel right and what can I actually produce, harvest or barter locally. There will always be room for cacao though...

I respect all people's choose to put whatever the heck they want in their bodies as long as it's not causing harm. That's where the vegan vs omnivore conversation can get really nuanced. Does eating almond mylk grown in monoculture orchards do less harm than consuming locally pastured cows milk? Is it better to eat a wild animal like deer that is at or over the carrying capacity for the land than it is to till arable soil in the pursuit of annual pulses or grains? The truth is I have no idea except my own...

I've seen a lot of vegans forsake their bodies in pursuit of an ideal, myself include. That said I'm not saying ANYONE should eat anything they don't want. I respect your choice to eat what is available with respect and mindfulness. The only right answer to what is the best diet is "it depends".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84