Homestead Pumpkin war with @foxyspirit

in #homesteading6 years ago

Disclaimer at Bottom.

Few days ago, a beautiful Yellow flower on steemit caught my eyes. The flower looks very familiar as I have the same in my mobile clicked days ago. When I checked the it was from our lovely steemian @foxyspirit posted her awesome farming post about growing Pumpkin in her garden . The plants grow, the little tendrils keep winding whatwver comes its way and then the beautiful flower and finally the Pumkin.

image

My first expression was thinking of being robbed of my posting idea. I too planning to post about Pumpkin. She has posted with some awesome close photography, and coincidently mine images also looks same. And why not to??, afterall the plant is same and the flower too. How could Pumpkin get diffetent flower in diffetent country.
So keeping all the bad thought aside, i concluded to share my post later, as too much of anything is bad.

Today, I will share my little Pumpkin farming on my TERRACE.

image

@foxyspirit my farm is not big as yours. Still I manages to grow few thing on my terrace. That little corner on my terrace produces many things. Be it Tomatoes, Chillies , Lady finger , Pumpkin and many other seasonal vegetables. Enough to be use at our home. This time around the Pumpkin plant has covered my entire terrace. My terrace is big enough and Pumpkin bale habe spread across everwhere, pretty hard to walk around. Even I have to look out for the Flowers hidden here and there.

image

Wanna a closure look of beautiful natural yellow??, here is one right from a hanging bale on the tetrace boundary wall and a little Ant already takibg her posession on the nector part.

image

I would love to post this natural Yellow pumpkin flower for @kalamendra Wednesday Yellow #colorchallenge ... hehe..
Anyway love to bring some interesting thing here, these beautiful flower can be eaten . yes @rebecabbe you were correct👍 We do make a snack out of it by frying in oil the snack called " Pakora" and it tastes very good. Dont ask the recepie now, as it was from my Mom speciality.

In few days I have seen the yellow flower transforming into little Green buds. The pumpkin started to take shape. I could not took the pic due to my Dad emergency, but few day ago I got this picture from my terrace Garden. A half grown Pumpkin.

image

The Green Pumpkin👌
Many of my European steemians must be prepairing for the Halloween days. I saw many Halloween pictures with Pumpkin, however In India this variety of Pumpkin is use for WORSHIPPING.

These Pumkin will be offered to Goddess as a sacrifice during Durga Puja festival. It is just a ritual not completelly aware of story behind it. And Secondally this one is also used in making Murrabba a kind of Indian sweet.

Thats it from me, would have love to share more images and details, but that has already been done @foxyspirit . do visit her post for more insight about Pumpkin farming.and some awesome images.

Disclaimer: @foxyspirit is my friend & there is no War

All images taken with smartphone.

Stay Calm....

Keep Steeming...Steem On !!!

Namaste from @steemflow

STEEMFLOW.gif

The STEEM Engine

image

...........................................

Steemit Bloggers

..............................................

Sort:  

Wow, that garden of yours looks really awesome!

Posted using Partiko Android

Ohh.thanks @simplymike it was vacant i used it only for growing few things

Posted using Partiko Android

vacant? Just like that?

Yes..we never used it untill i bring on soil...and i ised natural fertliser as well...there are lots of pigeon on other side...so i use to throw all there shits on the soil👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Yups, i expected of same reaction 😉 but it act as manure for soil

Posted using Partiko Android

LOL you make me sound so evil, MUAAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAAAA. :p
Even though you say my garden is bigger than yours, yours is more organized than mine. And your pumpkin is not growing in your neighbours yard like mine was lol. Also your pumpkin is fuzzier than mine.

I have never heard of pumpkin being worshiped for something other than halloween. I think that is pretty cool. I'm going to look it up.

Lovely post dear friend. Don't you just love how the pumpkin takes over the entire area?

Hey....you wanted it...so it need to be special...😜...btw i loved my terrace more now.....👍with all pumpkin around

Posted using Partiko Android

Follow me for crypto bitcoin hindi news @chetanyaswaroop

The vibe makes me want to have my own garden of the like.😂

Hahah..you can have it i am managing on my terrace @michellpiala

Posted using Partiko Android

lovely little garden you have there

Thanks @psyceratopsb it was good to have your close

Posted using Partiko Android

You ave a lovely vegetable garden, my friend @steemflow! I just followed you!

Ohh thanks @silversaver888 ..will buy the raffle ticket today

Posted using Partiko Android

This post has been rewarded with 100% upvote from @indiaunited-bot community account. We are happy to have you as one of the valuable member of the community.

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

hahahahahah @steemflow!!! a pumpkin war!!! LOL

I'm glad that you were only joking with her! hehehehe but wow - I remember growing pumpkins... i loved the way their little vines grew out and the flowers were SO beautiful! like little trumpets!!!!

I love seeing your terrace garden - makes me jealous to have my own! hehehehee

😉 thanks @dreemsteem little bit of fun allowed 😜 ...i just put some soil in a corner and tried to grow few year ago...and it still continuing grow few veggies

Posted using Partiko Android

Your terrace is lovely, and the pumpkin flower is so pretty!
Thanks for sharing this with #steemitbloggers 😊

Thanks @thekittygirl it was foxyspirit post that make to post my own

Posted using Partiko Android

I would love to have garden like yours! SO neat and organized! Love it!

I would love to have
Garden like yours! SO neat and
Organized! Love it!

                 - delishtreats


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Thanks @delishtreats though it was not organised....the bale were spread everywhere

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73