You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Seasonal Eating and Local Abundance

Awesome Ini! My hubby and I both watched and were just nodding and mmmmming through the whole thing haha
Whike we still are suburban homesteading, we are considering a veg lifestyle. But we will be helping our friends process their turkeys, and in a weird way looking forward to the learning experience.
What do you guys raise for meat? It's amazing that you give them a good healthy loving home. We especially appreciated your thoughts on being stewards, so true! Keep up the good work, we love watching these blogs. 😍

Xx ToL

Sort:  

Nodding and mmmming is the intended response.... Love it!

Ya know when I was vegan I helped some friends when they needed help butchering their 60 chickens
And was always down to skin up road kill to practice hide tanning. There's so much to learn, and I respect y'all for giving it a go. There's a lot of humility, respect and honor that I find comes when respectfully harvesting animals.

We raised these hens mostly for eggs. We also raised a few goats last year, but soon realized that we are not set up for fencing animals. They're crafty buggers! I hunt dear, squirrels and armadillos and we barter for grass fed beef. I'm still a public vegetarian as generally won't eat meat from a suspect source. I still think the best home is one that wild animals inhabit and value hunting as a viable means of sustenance, although I'm new to the scene as an adult onset hunter.

Happy you're enjoying the content. Thanks for the support <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84