I Traveled to Mexico City In Search of My Dream Homestead - I Found It!

in #homesteading6 years ago

My dream is to live on a homestead.

My own plot of land that I can care for, live off of and share it with others.

It's a dream I've had with @halcyondaze for ages now. That's why when he found Huerto Roma Verde while we were planning out our recent trip to Mexico City, I was elated!

When you enter from the busy street in the heart of the city, you are greeted with an abundance of greenery and structures that transport you to another land.

20180123_172039.jpg

I love how this structure sets the tone for this space. It's the perfect focal point to draw the eye in and made me want to explore every inch of the place.

20180123_172119.jpg

Even in the middle of winter, there were many vegetables growing. Many of which were in a raised bed that reminded me of my own on my roof in Los Angeles.

20180123_172049.jpg

Here's @halcyondaze in awe of the geodesic dome they were constructing as a gathering place. Since I have a huge fascination with Buckminster Fuller, seeing this brought a joy to my heart.

20180123_172421.jpg

They even have a store on site where they sell different products that are created in this space. I love the hustle!

What's even cooler is the living wall that looked so vibrant.

20180123_172651.jpg

Back at my Dad's place in Long Beach, we are growing some Hawaiian papayas, so when I saw these I smiled! I can't wait until I get fruits even bigger than these next season.

20180123_173247.jpg

Here I found a forest of kale that has provided good eats for a bunch of people in the homestead. I'm still trying to eat my way through my purple kale in my hydroponics tower and I can't wait till I have my own forest like these.

20180123_173340.jpg

This was a unique structure. There's a firepit in the middle, but I'm not exactly sure what it's used for.

Maybe a sweat lodge?

20180123_173728.jpg

Here's a project they are doing for a sustainable housing structure. It's still being built, but I love the resourcefulness and innovation. I can't wait to see the final product!

20180123_173815.jpg

Unfortunately, the only Spanish I remember from high school is Donde esta el bano?...Well, I found it and it was clean! They even had a little drop box for donations, which I threw in some pesos to help support.

20180123_174009.jpg

Huerto Roma Verde is a must-visit destination for those traveling to Mexico City!

I'm excited to take the aspects I liked from this space and implement them on my own some day.

Maybe 2018 will be the year I buy the land and get to work!


Thanks for following along!

If we haven’t met yet, please leave me a comment so we can!

By the way, I’m Jon. Most of my time is spent on my AI company and meeting new people on Steemit. I have lots of hobbies like traveling, Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, gardening, cooking, reading and crypto - which I plan to share here. If any of these topics interest you, please let me know so we can chat more!

Cheers,

JONCIRCLE.png

Jon
Follow me: @ucsdsu

P.S. Would you ever live on a homestead?

Sort:  

Wow! That place is so rad!! Love that purple unicorn dude peeking through the trees hehe. I'm a homesteader in Canada so I really enjoy seeing the tropical homesteads. ^_^

OOO you have your own homestead?! Can you share pictures, I'd love to see it!

Great eye, by the way, that purple unicorn is tiny :)

I've got some photos in posts on my blog, I don't have my own land but I've homesteaded at 3 different locations now (I live in a 37' travel trailer) and I raise goats/chickens/bees. Am part of a small offgrid community now. Been off the power grid for 2 years. Big learning curve but soo worth it!
DSCN3889.JPG

Off the grid life...that opens up a bunch of questions. Big congrats for doing it for 2 years, I couldn't fathom that right now...maybe that means I need it more than ever. That picture is beautiful!

Thankyou! Happy to answer any questions. I posted about my solar setup too. I probably would have taken longer to jump into it, but as I will post about in the future I was sort of thrown into it haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56