Fresh Carrots in the Garden in Late December! Gardening is self sustainable goal!

IMG_20171228_132137736.jpg

header.png

Homegrown Food!


One of the most self sustainable things you can do on the homestead is grow your own food! Be it meat, milk, eggs or vegetables, they all help the homestead be more self sufficient. Gardening is the logical first step in growing your own food as it requires the least amount of infrastructure and start up costs.

IMG_20171228_132108051.jpg

We planted these carrots from seed in September and because it was so late in season I didn't think we would see them until spring. But they grew tall and big pretty fast with our mild fall weather. You see the kale behind them is almost same height!

IMG_20171228_132135207.jpg

So I decided to take a peek and see how they were doing. Boy am I glad I did!

IMG_20171228_132152891.jpg

Wow! Would you look at that! What a beautiful sight! We can harvest a little at a time as we need them and not have to go to grocery store when we want to make a nice soup. This is really a good thing because money has been beyond tight lately and our grocery budget has been hit the hardest. But luckily our homestead provides most of our food!

IMG_20171228_151254982.jpg

And boy are they delicious!

So start a garden today!

Thank you for reading and watching Wholesome Roots!


wholesomerootsfarmstead.jpg

Please Upvote, Resteem, and Reply down below! Thank you!

Find Us ALL Over!

E-mail [email protected], YouTube, Facebook, Steemit, Instagram, Patreon, Twitter, Blog, Pinterest, Google+, Mangosteem, Homesteading on Steemit, Homesteaders Online Discord, Sola referal link

Sort:  

Yea! Exciting that your carrots are growing! I need to plant some! I have a few sweet potato plants in the ground but that's about it right now. :) So nice to be able to take a big bite out of something you planted! Thanks for sharing!

I enjoyed growing sweet potatoes as well! They are yummy!

We can't buy sweet potatoes here! People don't even know what they are! I found some purple ones at a discounted gringo market I go to on Fridays and they were $3 a pound. Yikes. I bought one and we're going to try to get it to grow more!

My daughter has just asked if we can keep a chicken in the garden, so we could have fresh eggs, bless her. Them carrots look lovely.

Get that girl a chicken or three! Thanks!

I am getting ready to start my seeds. I love fresh vegetables and those carrots,celery.potatoes and onions with a jar of tomatoes would make a great vegetable soup. Nothing taste better than what you grow yourself. Praying things get better for you and your family @wholesomeroots.

I love soup from the garden! Thank you!

yum yum - that is a gorgeous carrot, and quite the bumper crop!

Thank you! It was yummy!

The last time I tried planting carrots and onions from seed, it didn’t work. However, I got a couple of old onions and peeled back a few layers and gave them to my 3 year old to plant. I was amazed to see how many onion plants came out of them!

I also had bad luck when I first tried planting carrots. That's so cool your onions grew well!

I bought a dozen seedless mandarin oranges a while ago and found a seed in one of them. I got it to germinate and then planted it outside. Unfortunately, the summer sun here in Sydney was way too strong for it and it went crispy. I should have given it to my daughter - she's better at this stuff than I am.

Nothing tastes anywhere as good as fresh produce from your own garden

That is the truth!

I do not have a garden but my dad was so proud of his and I loved his fresh Veges

I rented a patch of land from the local council when I lived in Tokyo and grew potatoes. I had so many of the things that I'd show up at friends houses with a big bag full of them just so I could have space at home.

Clearly a good gardener

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wholesomeroots from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Sorry you're in a tough season of life right now. I hope your family finds more sustainable income soon. Keep your chin up and the vegetables look great!

Thank you! this too shall pass!

We love carrots and hopefully our seeds will sprout this spring. I'd love to have farm fresh food.

Love it! I am trying to grow my own fruit and veg, will definitely be trying carrots later this year - hopefully they grow like yours :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56