Wild Tip: Getting a Ton of Free Mulch

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)

My approach to homesteading relies on a ton of woodchips. At least when it comes to preparing the land for future planting.

Most of the time this means driving out to places that give away woodchips. But that means loading and unloading it all myself.

Plus, I can't fit that much mulch in a truck which results in a lot of driving and a lot of time.

What is best is to get woodchips delivered for free from tree service companies, utilities, or other groups.

This week I struck gold!

The county is doing work all along the road that I live on clearing low hanging branches. This is a long road with a lot of trees. So the result is a lot of woodchips!

So far I have gotten 2 full loads equaling about 20 cubic yards and I have room for 2 more loads! All free and delivered to my homestead!

That could be the same as 20+ pickup truck loads!

I'm very glad I stopped and chatted with the crew on my way to work. So if you see crews chipping up trees or branches try stopping and talking to them. You might just end up with a ton of free woodchips!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Looks like more than a tonne!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Man thats AWESOME... we did the same once, keeping an eye on for em next time they are clearing for powerlines. Congratulations

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! Yeah, this is going to make my life much easier for the next couple months. I'm very excited! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

My husband groans everytime I 'find' mulch. I argue it keeps him fit and manly 😂😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol, my wife is happy that I won't be spending hours driving to pickup mulch and then more time unloading it. Saves me days worth of work :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Oooh - Scored! Mostly I'm a bit anti free woodchips cos they're so often chemically treated waste-wood, but this sounds the REAL DEAL! I have a small shredder machine that I bought for about $210 here in Thailand that use to mulch all our twigs and bigger dry waste - shreds it up nicely for straight onto the garden or to help speed up the compost. GREAT investment - recommended.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Yeah, I get that concern. Here most of the free woodchips are clean from chemicals. I'm careful about that and as long as the woodchips are not from fruit trees it seems to be safe. People do spray their fruit trees so I avoid those. But most of the woodchips I get are from native trees and people don't seem to worry about spraying them. I like it the best when I know the woodchips just come from branches like these recent loads since then I know no trees were cut down to make the chips. Thanks for the comment!

Posted using Partiko Android

well done! That's a lot of woodchips!

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!

You have been curated by @mosunomotunde on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

That's quite the pile of wood chips!

:) I will need to get even more to do all that I want to do. I don't like it when I run out of wood chips!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97