You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TRYING "THE END" EXTREME HOT SAUCE AT PEPPER PALACE

in #hot6 years ago

re: Deacons

Ah, yes. Very good.

re: cook for the homeless

A worthy cause. Now, is this part of the church, in conjunction with a shelter or community program of some kind, or is it just you and your wife doing it on your own. All very compassionate, regardless. Just getting at scope, I guess, since there are bound to be plenty of hungry folks to feed.

I'd say my family does too the once a week I'm currently in the rotation but so far no one is willing to be boot me off of it. I think I need to try harder, but I have too great of a self-preservation instinct. :)

Sort:  

It can be a pain. The homeless meal is no specific church, we have about six different ones helping. My church has been helping with food the last year, we have been doing this for about three an a half years now. A biker gang helps too, we are a little eclectic. Last time we fed about 350, we started feeding about 60. It eats up the last weekend on the month, but the people sure are thankful. We set up under a canopy 40 foot long, with about 60 gallons of various food. :)

Waiting to eat sept 2017.JPG

Okay, so a pretty big operation, multi-church/organization. Very good. I can see where it could be a pain logistically and so forth. I imagine it makes it worth it when you see the people who get to eat being thankful for it. I wonder where they go for food otherwise. I can't imagine they're eating regularly, but they must be doing it enough during the month to sustain life. There are obviously other resources available or something, so you all don't have a bigger share of the meal providing.

We provide food to a halfway house weekly, but it is only 30 to 50 people each week. We are working to expand too two weekends a month, with two different crews.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57329.79
ETH 2914.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67