I found a convenient way to draw with real human shapes (upper body).

in #how-to6 years ago (edited)

Few days ago I was trying to study the human anatomy based on real models so I decided to try to trace it from the photos.
I found this quite fun in a way when trying to study the head shapes and figure but I'm not really fond of this kind of method I just found it quite too easy and conservative I feel like I'm not pushed to emulate it by my own strokes but that's just me I wanted to improve by my own terms, It is really fun though when tracing it and coloring at the same time but not as satisfactory as I expected it to be.

fim.PNG

a4.PNG

Methods

First copy your desired image in photoshop and set the opacity to 50 percent or below it depends on you which opacity your comfortable with.

a1.PNG

Image source http://www.brooklynvegan.com/taken-by-trees/

Try to scribble or get comfortable with the strokes unless you are confident with your strokes then can trace it directly don't trace it slowly try to sketch it naturally while maintaining its shape.

a2.PNG

I did my final line art since I'm not really good at it so I created another layer for my final line art

a3.PNG

Lastly I added the colours

a4.PNG

I was just playing around with colours since I'm not really good at blending to make it realistic or semi realistic I was aiming to be more like a comicy vibe or traditional portrait but it didn't end very well haha.

But if you wan't to practice realism then this method could be a very useful to you also with the photoshop effects your art would be magical.

That's it, it was fun but like I said before I wasn't really satisfied with it since It's more like editing a photo than a sketch, but that's just me if you enjoy this kind of stuff then go for it.

I enjoyed this method when trying to practice the anatomy or skeletons since when drawing from scratch you tend to focus on the anatomy and its core, that's what I learned from a great artist I watched on youtube named Aaron Blaise you can check his channel here: (https://www.youtube.com/user/AaronBlaiseArt)

Set it's opacity to below 50 percent and try to build a skeleton figure on the model

p1.PNG

Image source: https://twitter.com/tashimrod/status/852721708847046656

p2.PNG

With these I can focus more on the structure and it's figure rather than emulating its appearance and you can create a version of your own art style rather on focusing copying the models facial figure.

p5.PNG
p3.PNG

Not everyone has the knack to do realism art since everybody has a different preferences and I respect that and not everybody is talented and that's the sad truth and I'm certainly not one of those talented individuals, some of the artists just work hard to get good don't look art as a talent driven thing but more on hardwork and passion just like any sport there are talented individuals and also hard working individuals that are also successful in that certain field. If this can help you in any way to create a drawing that has more dimensions in to it then I'm happy to help I'm still practicing at this and getting the hang of it also.

p4.PNG

Blending it with the picture haha..

fim.PNG

Well that's it thanks for reading my article and I hope it helps It really helps me to get better each day and I had a lot of fun with it.

Culture.jpg

Sort:  

I was thinking at first that this is full of grid lines and stuff, who will guess that you will put more complexity on this... anyway, this is a great work.. keep posting quality content and soon you'll be rewarded. Hone your skills and don't stop learning.. small payouts is only in the beginning of your journey... C² and BestofPH is one of the support you can get out there internationally..and soon maybe who knows Curie... I'm not bluffing things here my profile speaks the truth and who I am... Just have faith and work hard..

Thank you for those kind words sir.

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @artzone. Follow @artzone and get added to our voting list for valuable up-votes!

thanks for the heads up.

Nice work buddy

So proud of you Phil. Dont worrt about lower upvotes, time will come!

Steem price is still low nowadays, well just have to wait. Ive been watching you guys the whole time! Engage also through our community talks ;)

thanks. no biggie at all chuck

wow big word!! hhahahaha

Congratulations @sirwayneweezy, your post has been featured at Best of PH Daily Featured Posts.
You may check the post here.


About @BestOfPH

We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who
are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.

See Curation/Delegation Incentive Scheme here. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Your drawings are nice, even if you don't like much this technique; maybe in the future you'll find something more approached to what you want.

Hey thanks for the feedback I know I'm still looking for that preferred method of drawing and I'm just trying various methods of what will work or not I guess it is a matter or perspective eh.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97