Mini Motivation #110 - A Simple 5-step Plan to Help You Go Full Time on Steemit

in #howto6 years ago

Being on Steem full time is not an easy feat, and it takes time, and lots of strategy. That's also counting in the fact that you are not an existing content creator or already having a pool of fans and followers to tap on. I spoke to @branlee87 about this, because he had been surviving on Steem for always half a year, and talked about some strategies that help others achieve the same.

But do know that these strategies are just suggestions, and each person's background is very different. You may need to adjust on some of the steps along the way.


#1. Reduce your monthly overheads.

Cut out all unnecessary expenses, subscribers, and go on bare minimum. This is good training to refrain yourself from over spending and being tempted by luxuries. Not to worry, because when you are better off, you will appreciate those luxuries again, but perhaps, you will question if you ever needed them at all. :)


#2. 6 months of savings

Looking at that bare minimum amount every month, just times it by six. This is to help give you run way, but do know that in my experience, that six months of savings may be used up faster than you think.

Which is why six months is a safe number.


#3. Start building content and fans (if you haven't already)

During the period you're saving up the six months of runway, be as active on Steemit as you can. Dedicate 30 minutes of content planning and research on weekdays, along with another 30 minutes of building connections (commenting, connecting on Discord etc). On weekends, block off 3 to 5 hours to produce the contents you have researched about.


#4. Find a job that's high pay low mental input.

Not all jobs are created equal, so while some may pay you lower at an hourly rate, but also gives you lesser work load. Look for those. For example, working as a phone support/customer service is one, and if you picked your time slots right, you may even be able to up your hourly income or have lower call volumes, freeing you to do those content researches for Steemit. Heck, after the 8 hour shift, you may already have enough research and draft to flesh out your content later when you get home, and you will be able to post contents daily.

Working for a call center was what I did very earlier in my career, as I was building my 3rd business. A bonus for me is that it allowed me to improve my English proficiency too.


#5. Have a clear six moths plan (one year is better)

When you eventually quit your job (the one you hate and/or maybe even the high-pay-low-mental-input one), you will suddenly find yourself with lots of free time, and your evil friend Mr. Procrastinator may creep into your life. Don't! Have a fixed to-do list or schedule, where you commit X number of hours a day purely for content creation.

Seriously, Steemit can be a full time job if you just have the right motivation and strategies. Talk to those who are already doing it in your local context (if you're in Malaysia reach out to @branlee87 and @howtostartablog), and use these five steps as a guideline. See you at the top!



Mini Motivation is my own daily strategy to inspire myself. Mostly 3-minute reads.

From Motivation, we gain Inspiration. From Inspiration, we achieve Momentum. And the rest, they say, is history.

Hope it helps nudge you a bit too in the right direction.

Oh it did? Let me know in the comments, and of course an upvote would be a nice motivation for me. :)

Stay awesome!


Hi there! Thanks for stopping by. I mostly blog about Steemit Success Strategies, business, marketing, entrepreneurship, psychology, community and random thoughts.

Talking about Steemit Success Strategies, if you want to 10x your results on this platform, perhaps some of these guides will be able to help you.

  1. How to generate at least 365 post ideas for your Steemit Life (and possibly never run out of ideas again!)
  2. The 4 Big Cs of Steemit Success
  3. 8 Content Strategies to Excite & Engage your Steemit Followers
  4. 29 Steemit Post Types to Attract More Followers & Boost Your Popularity (Part 1)
  5. 29 Steemit Post Types to Attract More Followers & Boost Your Popularity (Part 2)
  6. Copywriting Magic for Steemit: "How To" Post Titles
  7. Copywriting Magic for Steemit: "List Type" Post Titles
  8. Steemit Success Strategies #1 - The Law of Requisite Variety
  9. Steemit Success Strategies #2 - Batching + Parkinson's Law
  10. How to apply the 80/20 rule to your Steemit Life
  11. Steemit Experiment Report: 21 days, 21 minutes, 21 posts later, PLUS an 8-Step Guide on How to Write a Steemit Post every day under 30 minutes
  12. Case Study on Bid Botting - A Steemit Bootcamp follow-up module, a cheatsheet and why I probably won't use it

At least once a month, I run Steemit community events and training workshops with my buddies at #teammalaysia too. Some examples are:

  1. Steemit Bootcamp March 2018 - KICKSTART Your Steemit Success
  2. BoilerRoom 03.03.2018 | Let's Huddle, Hustle & Hack Out Awesome Steemit Contents!

I'm also grateful to be part of #steemitbloggers , SmartSteem and the sndbox.

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

follow_maverickfoo.gif


Wait, why's Mav posting on Steemit nowadays?

Well, unlike other blogging and social media platform, Steemit is the only platform that allows me to earn cryptocurrency when I engage with it. Yup, one Steem is about USD5, and you, too, can earn Steem Dollars every time you:

  • Create content (articles, blog posts, podcasts, videos, photos)
  • Upvote (like) other people contents
  • Comment on other people's posts
  • Have discussions, share opinions etc!

Yup, basically it's the very same thing you're doing on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram etc all along!

The only difference? For once you can earn a nice income on the side!

Sign up for a free Steemit account, and you can thank me by coming back and upvoting this article. And guess what, you will earn Steem too for doing that! #awesome

Sort:  

Of course I'm going to be biased and say "great post" :)

I wonder how @howtostartablog manages this. Maybe you should interview him :D

Sounds like a trip down to Melaka!

Steemit is a full time job for me as I have no other presently. It has not been easy keeping up, posting, connecting, writing, everyday. I had to take a few days off posting as I was drained.

The good thing is it has been paying my bills and I must say that I live far better than I have lived while working in all the different places that I have worked. It is not perfect though.

One of the ways in which I make sure that my business here continues to keep me afloat financially is increasing my stake by powering up my account. I believe that in steemit you can truly depend on only one person, yourself. Support comes and goes but if you have a good sp, you will survive just fine.

Steemit is a beautiful thing.

Couldn't agree more, sir. I think on time you will find like-minded companions, and together, achieve greater success.

... you will question if you ever needed them at all. <--- I find this very true, we actually don't need that much, its just the mindset of conditioning.

As @coachmelleow would say, Self-Limiting Beliefs!

Yes! That's the right terms for it!
Thanks @coachmelleow!

Thanks for the tips. Nice I’m recovering from surgery, I’m at SteemIt full time fot a couple of months. I feel procrastinating is my big issue. So I’m going to try to set up some kind of schedule. Hope that works...

Hi @simplymike, I hope you're feeling better from your surgery. I guess having that happen to you also forces you to look at options previously thought unavailable.

I think Mr. Procrastinator is everyone's worst friend, haha.

Since I’m having surgery again on Monday, I got another 6 to 8 weeks of full-time Steeming, lol.
I’m starting to get trouble finding inspiration, because I’m always in the same enviroment. W

Really great post. I have often thought of going full time steemit but it seems like way to much screen time.. I do like your idea of having an easy job with free time and do research or even steemit while at work, depending on your work load. I also laughed when I saw six months of savings. Like you said, that goes way faster than you think! definitely save for about a years worth :)

We tend to over exaggerate our abilities to reduce our spending, haha.

I don't see myself going to Steemit full time yet, but then again, we'll never know. :)

Hi LOVE YOUR POST MAN!!! LIKE MY POST TOO!!!!! HERE IS THE LINK: https://steemit.com/bots/@abusereports/last-minute-upvote-list-2018-05-02

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Hi LOVE YOUR POST MAN!!! LIKE MY POST TOO!!!!! HERE IS THE LINK: https://steemit.com/bots/@abusereports/last-minute-upvote-list-2018-05-02

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95